Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF

Wayanad district, with its three Assembly segments, may be the smallest district in the State. But it attained national prominence with the election of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The three constituencies in the district were UDF bastions till 2006 when the LDF made a clean sweep in the Assembly polls. While M.V. Shreyams Kumar of the LJD defeated K.K. Ramachandran of the Congress in the Kalpetta constituency, P. Krishnaprasad of the CPI(M) defeated N.D. Appachan of the Congress in Sulthan Bathery and K.C. Kunhiraman of the CPI(M) defeated P. Balan of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) in Mananthavady.

However, in the 2011 Assembly polls the UDF had won all the segments. This time, the LJD aligned with the UDF and Mr. Shreyams Kumar retained his position in Kalpetta segment. I.C. Balakrishnan and P.K. Jayalakshmi of the Congress won in Sulthan Bathery and Mananthavady segments respectively.

In the 2016 Assembly polls, the Congress won only Sulthan Bathery. I.C. Balakrishnan of the Congress defeated Rugmini Subrahmanyan of the CPI(M). O.R. Kelu and C.K. Saseendran of the CPI(M) defeated Ms. Jayalakshmi of the Congress and Shreymas Kumar of the LJD in Mananthavady and Kalpetta respectively.

When the UDF wave swept the State in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, Mr. Gandhi won with a record margin of 4,31,770 votes from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency.

However, in the recent local body polls too the UDF got an upper hand and it could win in 16 local bodies, including Kalpetta and Mananthavady municipalities.

Now, the resignation of prominent leaders ahead of the Assembly polls is rocking the Congress in the district. As many as three Congress leaders, including Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee secretary M.S. Viswanathan, resigned from the party in a week owing to discontent.

DCC general secretary P.K. Anil Kumar and Mahila Congress leader Sujaya Venugopal also resigned from the party. When Mr. Anil Kumar joined the LJD and Ms. Venugopal joined CPI(M).

Moreover, Mr. Viswanathan is likely to be the LDF candidate in Sulthan Bathery. He is likely to take on I.C. Balakrishnan, who is also the DCC president. Sitting MLA O.R. Kelu of the CPI(M) may take on P.K. Jayalakshmi at Mananthavady.

The name of candidates of both the fronts in Kalpetta segment is yet to be decided. Though the LDF allotted the segment to the LJD, Mr. Shreyamskumar had clarified that he would not contest this time.

Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) leader Thushar Vellapplly was the Lok Sabha candidate of the NDA, but this time the BJP district leadership had decided to put its own candidates in the three segments.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 8:24:37 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
You are reading
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story