Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes

It was from Cherthala Assembly constituency that K.R. Gouri, former Communist firebrand, got elected to the first Kerala Assembly in 1957 and went on to become the Revenue Minister in the EMS Nampoothiripad-headed Communist government in the State.

She was re-elected from Cherthala in 1960. The constituency had elected former Chief Minister A.K. Antony (1970, 1996 and 2001), veteran Congress leader Vayalar Ravi (1982 and 1987) and former Communist Party of India (CPI) State secretary C.K. Chandrappan (1991), thus attaining the status of a VIP constituency.

Incumbent Food and Supplies Minister P. Thilothaman of the CPI completed a hat-trick of wins in Cherthala when he defeated his nearest rival S. Sarath of the Congress by a margin of 7,196 votes in the 2016 polls.

Despite being seen as a traditional stronghold of the left front, Cherthala had embraced the United Democratic Front (UDF) several times.

After winning thrice, Mr. Thilomathan will not be in the fray this time. The CPI is set to field party State executive member P. Prasad. In the UDF, the seat will be contested by Congress, which is yet to finalise a candidate. In the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Bharath Dharma Jana Sena will field P.S. Jyothis, former CPI member and Thanneeermukkom grama panchayat president.

While the Left Democratic Front (LDF) hopes to retain the constituency, the UDF is aiming to wrest the seat after a gap of 15 years. The presence of the NDA, which secured 19,614 votes in 2016 Assembly polls and 22,655 votes in the Assembly segment in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections could not be overlooked.

The recent election history whether the 2019 Lok Sabha polls or 2020 local body polls, however, favours the LDF most. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the LDF had an upper hand in the Assembly segment polling 16,895 more votes than the UDF.

Among the local bodies in the constituency, the LDF is in power in Cherthala South, Thanneermukkom, Vayalar, Muhamma, and Kanjikuzhy along with the Cherthala municipality. The UDF rules Pattanakkad and Kadakarappally grama panchayats.…………………………..

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 7:31:57 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
You are reading
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story