Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph

When the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) returned to power in 2016, it was almost a clean sweep in Alappuzha district. It had won eight out of nine constituencies. Back then, the Haripad Assembly constituency offered the lone solace for the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF), where Leader of the Opposition Ramesh Chennithala won by a comfortable margin.

Between 2016 and 2021, the political landscape of Alappuzha has witnessed many twists and turns. While the LDF retained the Chengannur seat in a byelection held in May 2018, the UDF wrested Aroor from the LDF in a bypoll held in October 2019. When the UDF wave swept the State in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency stood with the LDF. However, the UDF took lead in seven of the nine Assembly segments in the district.

In the recent local body polls, the LDF won big. But, the Assembly polls is a new ball game. The LDF, which is banking on the good works of the State government, is hoping to repeat the performance of 2016. The CPI(M) is set to contest from Aroor, Alappuzha, Ambalappuzha, Kayamkulam, Mavelikara (SC reserved) and Chengannur and the CPI from Cherthala and Haripad. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is likely to field Thomas K. Thomas, brother of former minister Thomas Chandy, from Kuttanad.

Of the sitting LDF MLAs, Food and Civil Supplies Minister P. Thilothaman of the CPI may not contest the polls after winning three times from Cherthala. Although the CPI(M) has decided not to field those who had contested consecutively and won twice, the party district secretariat has sought relaxation in the norms to field Finance Minister T.M. Thomas Isaac and Public Works Minister G. Sudhakaran, both sitting MLAs from Alappuzha and Ambalappuzha respectively.

The party has not taken a final call on fielding sitting MLAs U. Prathibha from Kayamkulam and R. Rajesh from Mavelikara. It is almost certain that the CPI(M) will field Saji Cherian, MLA, again from Chengannur. The CPI has prepared a list with multiple names for Cherthala and Haripad.

In the UDF, the only certainty is the sitting MLAs Ramesh Chennithala and Shanimol Usman of the Congress from Haripad and Aroor respectively. Of the nine seats, the Congress is likely to contest from eight. The Kuttanad seat may be given to the Kerala Congress (M) led by P.J. Joseph.

In the NDA, the BJP is likely to field candidates from Alappuzha, Ambalappuzha, Haripad, Chengannur and Mavelikara, while the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) will contest from Kayamkulam, Kuttanad, Cherthala and Aroor. With the emergence of the BJP, the district is set to witness triangular contest in a number of seats, especially in Chengannur.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 10, 2021 11:39:39 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
You are reading
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story