Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel

Aluva has largely remained a safe bet for the Congress.

A traditional bastion of the United Democratic Front (UDF), the constituency had bucked anti-incumbency and electoral swings to stand firm with the Congress, except for three occasions.

In the elections held in 1967, industrialist M.K.A. Hameed won as an Independent backed by the CPI(M). K. Mohammed Ali, who had won the constituency six times in a row, was part of the Indian National Congress (U) in the 1980 polls. A breakaway faction of the Congress (I) and led by A.K. Antony, the INC (U) was then an ally of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

The CPI(M) had to wait for nearly two-and-a-half decades to break into the Congress citadel when its candidate A.M. Yousuf defeated Mr. Ali by a margin of 4,366 votes in 2006.

The Congress regained control of its traditional stronghold after Anwar Sadath, sitting MLA, defeated Mr. Yousuf by a margin of 13,214 votes in 2011. He retained the seat in 2016 by a margin of 18,835 votes against V. Saleem of the CPI(M).

An analysis of the vote share since 2011 revealed a dip for both the UDF and the LDF. From 47.66% in 2006 when Mr. Yousuf, its candidate, had emerged victorious, the LDF vote share went down to 39.9% in 2011, and it further slipped to 34.56% in 2016.

The Congress too had something to worry about, as its share dropped from 50.24% in 2011 to 47.39% in 2016.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has gradually increased its vote share since the 2011 elections. From 6.46% in 2011, the coalition had more than doubled its vote share to 13.19% in 2016.

The last delimitation had changed the contours of Aluva, and it lost its industrial town status after Eloor and Edayar industrial areas, Kadungalloor grama panchayat, and Kalamassery Municipality were delinked from it. The segment now consists of Aluva Municipality, Chengamanad, Choornikkara, Edathala, Kanjoor, Keezhmadu, Nedumbassery, and Sreemoolanagaram.

Anwar Sadath is likely to be the UDF candidate for the third consecutive time. The Left aspirants may include a woman candidate, while the NDA is yet to finalise its probable list of candidates.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 16, 2021 6:43:05 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
You are reading
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story