Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground

Kannur district has invariably favoured the Left Democratic Front (LDF), no matter which of the two major coalitions in the State garnered more seats in the State to form the government. The election to the Assembly in 2016 was no different. The LDF had won eight out of the 11 Assembly seats in the district.

While the LDF is planning to repeat the winning streak in the Assembly elections, specifically after doing well in the recent local body elections, the United Democratic Front (UDF) is hopeful of changing these equations. While Kalliassery, Dharmadam, Payyanur, Taliparamba, Mattanur and Thalassery are traditional strongholds of the LDF, the UDF has a continuous winning history in Peravoor and Irrikur.

A tough battle between the LDF and the UDF is expected this time in Azhikode, Kannur and Koothapuramba.

With the sitting MLA K.M. Shaji of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) not willing to contest in the Azhikode constituency, the CPI(M) hopes to take back the seat. Young CPI(M) leader and former district panchayat president K.V. Sumesh is the party's probable candidate in the constituency. Allegations against Mr. Shaji and an investigation by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) against him will be a major weapon of the LDF in the campaign.

May make ripples

The UDF is expected to make ripples in the Kannur constituency after its strong comeback in the Kannur Corporation elections. The constituency is a stronghold of the Congress, which it had won since 1987 till 2011. Minister Kadannappally Ramachandran of the Congress (S), an ally of the LDF, captured the seat from the Congress in 2016.

With Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president Mullappally Ramachandran deciding not to contest in the coming Assembly election, names of probable candidates to take on Mr. Ramachandran in the constituency are a matter of speculation.

The LDF candidate in the Koothuparamba constituency is likely to be Loktantrik Janata Dal leader and former Minister K.P. Mohanan, who was in the UDF when he contested from the constituency in 2016 as Janata Dal (U) candidate and was defeated by Health Minister K.K. Shylaja.

The constituency before its delimitation had been an invincible bastion of the CPI(M). In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, Congress leader K. Muraleedharan secured a margin of 4,133 votes against CPI(M) candidate P. Jayarajan in the Koothuparamba Assembly segment in the Vadakara Lok Sabha constituency.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 9:06:17 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
You are reading
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story