Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base

A fortress of socialist parties that has a strong Marxist support base. Vadakara constituency in Kozhikode district is one of the few segments in the State that has never elected a non-Left candidate to the Assembly. It remains to be seen if the record will be rewritten this time.

The Left Democratic Front (LDF) has offered the seat to its socialist ally, Loktantrik Janata Dal, snatching it away from another socialist group, Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S), whose leader C.K. Nanu had defeated Manayath Chandran of the Janata Dal (United) in 2016. The JD(U), the LJD’s former avatar, was part of the United Democratic Front (UDF) then. Ironically, Mr. Chandran, LJD Kozhikode district president, is a front-runner for the seat now.

It was rumblings within the CPI(M) which led to a split and later the murder of rebel leader T.P. Chandrasekharan in 2012 that pitchforked Vadakara’s turbulent politics into limelight across the State and beyond. Ever since the split in 2008, when Chandrasekharan formed the Revolutionary Marxist Party (RMP), offering an alternative brand of Left politics, every election in the constituency revolves around the position adopted by that party.

The RMP had a tie-up with the front for the local body polls in the form of the Janakeeya Munnani in grama panchayats such as Onchiyam, Eramala, Azhiyoor, Chorod, and Mavoor, and it could gain power in a few of them. If the tie-up continues for the Assembly polls, it will formalise the RMP’s alliance with the UDF. For the record, Ms. Rema had unsuccessfully contested the 2016 Assembly elections and had landed at the third spot by winning over 20,000 votes.

It is not clear who will be the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate. It had fielded M. Rajesh Kumar last time.

M.K. Kelu, popularly known as Keluettan, who then contested as a candidate of the undivided Communist Party of India, was the first representative of the constituency in 1957. M. Krishnan, who was part of the Samyutka Socialist Party, Praja Socialist Party, and the Socialist Party, won elections in 1960, 1967, and 1970.

Since the elections held after the Emergency in 1977, socialist leader K. Chandrasekharan represented the seat for the Bharatiya Lok Dal, Janata Party, and later the Janata Dal for four consecutive terms.

C.K. Nanu was elected first as a Janata Dal candidate and later on JD(S) ticket in 1996 and 2001. M.K. Premnath won the seat for the JD(S) in 2006.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 7:43:56 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
You are reading
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story