Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady

Mananthavady, one of the two seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes in the State, was once considered a traditional bastion of the United Democratic Front (UDF). But when the segment was carved out in 2011 after detaching Kelakam and Kottiyur grama panchayats from Kannur district, the front lost its upper hand in the constituency.

However, in the maiden election in Mananthavady in 2011, former Minister P.K. Jayalakshmi of the Congress won with a margin of 12,734 votes against her rival K.C. Kunhiraman of the CPI(M).

Ms. Jayalakshmi secured 62,996 votes and Mr. Kunhiraman got 50,262 votes. He defeated P. Balan of the UDF by a margin of 15,115 votes in 2006.

However, in 2016, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) retained the segment by a margin of 1,307 votes. This time, O.R. Kelu of the CPI(M) won by 62,436 votes, and his opponent Ms. Jyalakshmi got 61,129 votes. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) got 16, 830 votes.

The Mananthavady constituency comprises six grama panchayats and a municipality. They are Edavaka, Panamaram, Thavinhal, Thirunelly, Thondernad and Vellamunda panchayats and Mananthavady Municipality. In the local body polls, the LDF won in three grama panchayats and UDF in two and Mananthavady Municipality. Both the fronts got equal seats in Panamaram grama panchayat.

In the 2016 Assembly elections, the LDF had swept three grama panchayats and Mananthavady Municipality.

However, in Lok Sabha polls, the constituency favoured the UDF. The front won 93,237 votes, while the LDF secured 38,206. The NDA got 13,916 votes.

Nevertheless, the history of the Assembly segment shows that it has always supported the UDF since 1987. The LDF could win twice in 2006 and 2016. Sitting MLA O.R. Kelu and Ms. Jayalakshmi are likely to be the LDF and UDF candidates respectively this time. There are 1,91,411 voters, including 96,113 women and 96,268 men, in the constituency.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 19, 2021 10:01:08 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
You are reading
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story