Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here

The mention of Kozhikode South conjures up images of the iconic S.M. Street, the Kallai river and its timber village, the centuries-old Kuttichira Mishkal Mosque, the Tali Shiva Temple and the Zamorin era.

However, the constituency, the erstwhile Kozhikode II before the delimitation of the Assembly segments, has remained unchanged with the Valiyangadi (Big Bazaar), the wholesale market, and the Halwa bazaar, time-honoured structures and historical destinations on Gunny Street, Silk Street and Gujarati Street. Except for the change in the name, the delimitation has not altered either the geographic or the demographic structure.

The Muslim-majority segment, with the community forming over 60% of the population, comprises 25 divisions of the Kozhikode Corporation. The constituency elected Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) in the last two Assembly polls held in 2011 and 2016. Previously, the Congress party, the CPI(M) and the Indian National League (INL), a breakaway faction of the IUML, have won from here.

The electoral battle has been fierce whenever the CPI(M) has fielded a formidable candidate to take on the so-called juggernaut of the IUML, especially in the Assembly polls. Such a contest was witnessed when IUML leader M.K. Muneer won by a whisker when he was pitted against C.P. Musafir Ahamed, son of former CPI(M) legislator C.P. Kunhu, in 2011. Mr. Ahamed is, at present, the Deputy Mayor of Kozhikode.

However, in the Lok Sabha polls, as was seen in most Assembly segments in Kozhikode district, the United Democratic Front (UDF) has had an upper hand. Congress nominee M.K. Raghavan won by a margin of 4,781 votes in 2009, 5,216 votes in 2014, and 13,731 votes in 2019.

The recent civic body polls has boosted the confidence of the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) camp after it breached some of the IUML bastions. The Left parties won 15 out of the 25 divisions while the UDF won eight. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the remaining two divisions.

Both the coalitions are yet to announce the names of their candidates from Kozhikode South. The IUML is likely to renominate Mr. Muneer while the LDF has offered the seat to INL. Among the names being considered is the party national secretary Ahammed Devarkovil.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance has not announced its nominee yet. Previously, the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena, a constituent of the NDA, had contested from here. But now, the BJP plans to field its district president V.K. Sajeevan.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 9:07:36 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
You are reading
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story