Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu

In 2016, K. Praveen Kumar of the Congress appeared to buck the trend of the Communist Party of India’s (CPI) four-and-a-half-decades of successive election victories from Nadapuram. But he lost to incumbent MLA E.K. Vijayan by a narrow margin of 4,759 votes.

Nadapuram chose a non-CPI candidate only twice in the past 54 years, when Hameedali Shamnad of the Indian Union Muslim League and E.V. Kumaran of the CPI(M) won from here in 1960 and 1965, respectively. Since 1970, only CPI candidates have emerged victorious. They are M. Kumaran, Kandalottu Kunhambu, K.T. Kanaran, Sathyan Mokeri, Benoy Viswam, and Mr. Vijayan.

As another poll season arrives, voters of this segment may have a sense of déjà vu with both Mr. Vijayan, who won from here in 2011 as well, and Mr. Kumar being rumoured as the front runners. Though it was earlier reported that the CPI would not give ticket to two-time legislators, the party is learnt to have relaxed the norm to allow one more term to them. This was what increased the probability of Mr. Vijayan’s candidature.

A former district secretary of the CPI, Mr. Vijayan is considered to be an amiable and approachable politician.

The names of All India Youth Federation leader P. Gavas and National Federation of Indian Women functionary P. Vasantham too are doing the rounds as probable candidates.

Mr. Kumar, one of the general secretaries of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee, meanwhile, had been active in the socio-political sphere of Nadapuram even after his defeat last time.

No other name seems to have figured on the United Democratic Front candidate list. K.P. Vijayalakshmi, K.K. Ranjith, and N.B. Gopinath are in the candidate list of the National Democratic Alliance.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 8:50:48 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
You are reading
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story