Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?

The CPI(M) had a winning streak from the Koyilandy Assembly constituency in Kozhikode district since 2006. The election results on May 2 will tell if the party can repeat its feat this time as well or if the Congress can stage a comeback.

P. Sathidevi, State secretary of the All India Democratic Women’s Association, and Kanathil Jameela, Kozhikode district panchayat president, are reportedly the front runners as candidates from the Left Democratic Front (LDF). Vidya Balakrishnan, Youth Congress leader, and U. Rajeevan, Kozhikode district Congress committee president, and K.M. Abhijith, Kerala Students Union president, are the probable candidates from the United Democratic Front (UDF). From the National Democratic Alliance, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha State president C.R. Praful Krishnan and BJP Mahila Morcha leader Ramya Murali are learnt to be among the contenders. The constituency has Koyilandy and Payyoli muncipalities and Chemanchery, Chengottukavu, Moodadi and Thikkodi grama panchayats within its limits. The UDF is in power only in Payyoli. The constituency is often found to have favoured the LDF in recent Assembly polls and reversed the choice in the Lok Sabha polls.


Neither the Congress nor the Communists could win the Koyilandy seat in the first four Assembly elections. Kunhiraman Nambiar of the Praja Socialist Party, K.B. Menon and P.K. Kidavu of the Samyukta Socialist Party were elected in the 1957, 1960, 1965, and 1967 polls. E. Narayanan captured the seat for the Congress for the first time in 1970. Manimangalath Kuttiali repeated the feat for the party in 1980 and 1982 elections and M.T. Padma in 1987 and 1991 polls.

Though P. Viswan won the seat for the first time for the CPI(M) in 1996, he lost to P. Sankaran of the Congress five years later. However, Mr. Viswan staged a comeback in 2006. In the last two elections, K. Dasan has been winning the seat.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 7:09:51 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
You are reading
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story