Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment

Closely-fought elections are scarcely a new theme in Parassala, the Assembly segment which hugs Tamil Nadu at the southern end of Thiruvananthapuram district.

The April 6 polls are not likely to be any different in this constituency which has, over the decades, swung between the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also is jostling for space in Parassala where C. K. Hareendran of the CPI(M) won the 2016 elections, defeating A. T. George of the Congress by 18,566 votes.

In 2016, Mr. Hareendran had won 70,156 votes and Mr. George - who represented the constituency in 2011 - 51,590. Karamana Jayan of the BJP trailed in third spot with 33,028 votes.

Development, especially on the farm and infrastructure fronts, will be a key poll plank for the fronts in this rural constituency. Over the decades, caste equations have played a decisive role in Parassala, which, incidentally, has the highest number of voters in the district at a little over 2.15 lakh (1.03 lakh males, 1.12 lakh females) as per the final voters list published on January 20. (The numbers are likely to change once the supplementary list is out.)

After the delimitation exercise some years ago, the constituency comprises Amboori, Aryancode, Kallikkad, Kollayil, Kunnathukal, Ottasekharamangalam, Parassala, Perumkadavila and Vellarada grama panchayats.

Never content with any one front for long, Parassala has been the venue of many a pitched election battle. The constituency chose the Congress in 1957 when Kunjukrishnan Nadar M. defeated Krishna Pillai K. of the PSP. Mr. Nadar won the 1960 elections, but this time as an Independent, defeating Thangayyan of the CPI. In 1965 and 1967, N. Gamaliel claimed Parassala for the Congress.

Parassala swerved ‘Left’ in 1970 when M. Sathyanesan of the CPI(M) defeated N. Sundaran Nadar of the Congress. But Sathyanesan could not repeat the feat in 1977. He lost to M. Kunjukrishnan Nadar of the Congress by 13,401 votes, and to N. Sundaran Nadar in the 1980 elections.

Mr. Sundaran Nadar of the Congress won again in 1982, defeating V. J. Thankappan of the CPI(M). Parassala swung ‘Left’ again in 1987 with M. Sathyanesan emerging victorious. M. R. Raghu Chandra Bal reclaimed the constituency for the Congress in 1991.

Mr. Sundaran Nadar won in 1996 and 2001. In 2006, Parassala was claimed by R. Selvaraj of the CPI(M), and A. T. George of the Congress in 2011.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 8:16:11 PM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
You are reading
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story