Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach

A stencil specialist preparing campaign materials for various political parties at Valiyangadi in Kozhikode on Friday.  

There has never been a surprise in Kondotty. This Assembly constituency, formed in 1957, has always been a stronghold of the Indian Union Muslim League and all the 16 MLAs who have represented the segment have won with considerably good margins.

Kondotty constituency, now represented by T.V. Ibrahim in the Assembly, consists of Vazhayur, Vazhakkad, Pulikkal, Cherukavu, Cheekode, and Muthuvallur grama panchayats besides Kondotty Municipality of Malappuram district. It is one of the seven Assembly constituencies that form the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency.

A tradition

Kondotty has favoured the IUML much before it became part of the front led by the Congress and has a history of having IUML and Congress candidates pitched against each other twice. M.P.M. Ahammed Kurikkal of IUML had defeated Kolakkadan Aboobakker of the Congress in 1957 while Syed Ummer Bafakhi of IUML defeated M.P. Gangadharan of Congress in 1967.

Former Chief Minister C.H. Mohammed Koya represented Kondotty for three years from 1970, but resigned later when he became an MP. P.Seethi Haji represented Kondotty for four consecutive terms from 1977 to 1991.

In 2011, K.Muhammedunni Haji retained the seat winning against P.C.Noushad of CPI(M) and Kumari Sukumaran of BJP. In the next polls in 2016, T.V. Ibrahim won but with a considerable fall in his vote share.

There was also an evident increase in the vote share of the LDF and the Bharatiya Janata Party that time.

Even a marginal shift in the loyalties in this constituency is highly unlikely unless something drastic happens in the political front of the State in the coming one month. Otherwise, there is no scope for the guessing game here.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 8:18:36 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
You are reading
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story