Watch | Will Bengaluru choose BJP again?

Watch | Will Bengaluru choose BJP again? | Decode Karnataka

What makes the Bengaluru voter tick? Does the Modi wave still hold sway over the urban electorate? 

April 24, 2024 02:22 pm | Updated May 08, 2024 12:43 pm IST

Since the turn of the millennium, the BJP has remained undefeated in all three seats across Bengaluru city. BJP has not lost Bengaluru North since 2004, Bengaluru Central since 2009, and mostly importantly, it has enjoyed an uninterrupted winning streak in Bengaluru South since 1991. 

Will the tide turn in 2024? What makes the Bengaluru voter tick? Does the Modi wave still hold sway over the urban electorate? 

India’s IT capital has been known to vote differently in Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. 

In Bengaluru City North, South and Central, the BJP has not lost a Lok Sabha election since the 2000s. The only exception to this is Bengaluru Rural (formerly Kanakapura) where sitting Congress MP DK Suresh has held the seat since 2014. 

In the 2023 State polls, of the 32 Assembly constituencies in Bengaluru Urban and Rural districts, the Congress won 16, the BJP 15 and the JD(S) 1. While this may suggest a steady support base for the Congress in the region, luck and numbers haven’t favoured the party in the Parliamentary polls. 

To give us a better reading of the politics and electorate of this urban battlefield, we have with us this week, Bengaluru bureau’s Deputy City Editor, KV Aditya Bharadwaj.

Reporting: Nalme Nachiyar and KV Aditya Bharadwaj

Video and production: Ravichandran N.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.