Bipolar elections in Karnataka | Infographics

The BJP, its ally JD(S) and Congress are set to contest this year’s general elections in Karnataka. Here are details of polling and important candidates in the State.

April 15, 2024 04:04 pm | Updated April 16, 2024 01:43 pm IST

Karnataka will go to polls in two phases on April 26 and May 7 for the general elections. The State has 28 constituencies, five of which are reserved constituencies for Scheduled Castes and two for Scheduled Tribes. This year’s general elections are spread over seven phases from April 19 to June 1 to elect the 18th Lok Sabha.

Charts appear incomplete? Click to remove AMP mode

Karnataka helped the Bharatiya Janata Party gain a foothold in the South, when the party won 25 seats in 2019. The Congress won one seat (Bangalore Rural), the Janata Dal (Secular) won from Hassan and an independent candidate won from Mandya. In 2019, the BJP achieved the highest vote share since 2004 in the State at 51.38%, up from 2004’s vote share of 34.8%.

The southern constituency Mandya recorded the highest polling percentage at 80.59%. Bangalore South recorded the lowest polling percentage at 53.7%, followed by Bangalore Central, Bangalore North, Raichur and Gulbarga constituencies.

Looking at the absolute number of voters who came to register their vote, Bangalore Rural recorded the most (16,22,624) while Bijapur constituency had the least number of voters at 11,12,493.

Anantkumar Hegde from the BJP won by the largest margin of votes (4,79,649) in Uttara Kannada. V. Srinivas Prasad also from the BJP won by the smallest margin (1,817) in Chamarajanagar.

Among the candidates, 13 are incumbents nominated again for this election. This includes former Union Minister Shobha Karandlaje in Bangalore North and incumbent Member of Parliament Tejasvi Surya in Bangalore South.

Some prominent candidates include former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy contesting from Mandya on a JD(S) ticket and former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar from Belgaum on a BJP ticket. For this election, the BJP and JD(S) have formed an alliance against the Congress.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.