The AIADMK crisis: who'll take the party forward?

Edappadi Palaniswami sworn in as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

Paying homage Edappadi K. Palaniswami went to the Jayalalithaa memorial after being sworn in Chief Minister.

Paying homage Edappadi K. Palaniswami went to the Jayalalithaa memorial after being sworn in Chief Minister.

Ending the political impasse in Tamil Nadu, Governor Ch. Vidyasagar Rao on Thursday evening administered the oath of office to Edappadi K. Palaniswami as the 13th Chief Minister along with a Council of 30 Ministers.

Mr. Palaniswami said he would take a floor test in the Assembly at 11.a.m. on Saturday to prove his majority, ostensibly to ensure that there is no room for horse trading by the rebel camp headed by former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam.

Gets 15 days

The Governor had granted him 15 days to prove his majority. This is the first time in 29 years a Chief Minister will be seeking a vote of confidence in the House. Barring Mr. Panneerselvam and K. Pandiarajan, who revolted against the leadership of the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), all other Ministers in the outgoing Cabinet were retained. The only new face was K.A. Sengottaiyan, newly appointed chairman of the party presidium.

Mr. Sengottaiyan, a veteran, was given School Education, a portfolio held by Mr. Pandiarajan, while Mr. Palaniswami kept to himself all the subjects including Finance and Home, held by Mr. Panneerselvam.

In addition, he retained the powerful Public Works Department and Highways and Minor Ports, which he handled earlier.


After assumption of office, he visited the mausoleums of former Chief Ministers, Jayalalithaa, M.G. Ramachandran and C.N. Annadurai. Expressing confidence that he would demonstrate his majority in the House, Mr. Palaniswami told the media that the “Amma” (Jayalalithaa) government would continue. He then left for the Golden Bay Resorts in Koovathur, where MLAs supporting him have been confined since February 8.

The swearing-in ceremony was, among others, attended by T.T.V. Dinakaran, deputy general secretary of the AIADMK and V. Divakaran, brother of the interim general secretary V.K. Sasikala.

M. Thambidurai, propaganda secretary of the AIADMK and Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, told The Hindu that there was “no split” in the party. Apart from the two MLAs [Mr. Panneerselvam and Mr. Pandiarajan] who were expelled from the Assembly, the eight others who went to the other camp “are with us”, he said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 16, 2022 8:26:29 pm |