Ministers, MP and MLAs observe fast in Tiruchi

They protest against the Centre for its failure to form the Cauvery Management Board as per the Supreme Court verdict

Updated - April 04, 2018 08:56 pm IST

Published - April 04, 2018 08:23 am IST - TIRUCHI

AIADMK leaders observing a fast in Tiruchi on Tuesday.

AIADMK leaders observing a fast in Tiruchi on Tuesday.

Ministers, Members of Parliament and Legislative Assembly observed a fast on Tiruchi-Karur Road near Anna statue here on Tuesday.

They were protesting against the Centre for its failure to form the Cauvery Management Board as per the Supreme Court verdict and the Cauvery tribunal award.

P. Kumar, MP, district secretary, Tiruchi urban, presided. Among others, Tourism Minister Vellamandi N. Natarajan, Backward Classes and Minority Welfare Minister S. Valarmathi, deputy coordinator of AIADMK K.P. Munusamy, Sorathur Rajendran, deputy secretary, All India MGR mandram, former Ministers K. Ponnusamy, T.P. Poonatchi, K.K. Balasubramaniam participated in the agitation.

According to a report, over 4,000 cadre from different parts of the district took part in the fast that began at 8 a.m. About 500 cadre were present when the fast began at 8 a.m. The crowd swelled as the day progressed forcing the organisers to erect pandals to accommodate them. Office-bearers of various wings of the AIADMK from different parts of the district including Manapparai, Thuraiyur, Lalgudi and Thottiyam participated.

Besides criticising the Centre for delaying formation of the CMB, most of the speakers faulted the DMK for failing to exert pressure on the Centre to form the board when it was part of United Progressive Alliance government.

On the sidelines of agitation, K.P. Munusamy, deputy co-ordinator of AIADMK, told reporters that the AIADMK had expressed its stand to the Centre on the need to form the CMB by observing a fast. It was aimed at exerting pressure on the Centre to form the board and not to gain political mileage. The Centre would respect the feeling of the AIADMK and the people of the State, he said.

Mr. Munusamy said that the Centre was delaying formation of the CMB with an eye on Karnataka elections. MPs of the AIADMK continued to stall proceedings of the Parliament for the last 18 days demanding the Centre to form the CMB.

In Pudukottai, AIADMK cadre observed a fast near the Old Bus Stand. Minister for Health and Family Welfare C. Vijaya Baskar led the protest. A large number of cadre belonging to various wings of the party participated in the agitation. P.K. Vairamuthu, Chairman, Tamil Nadu Housing Development Corporation, were among those who participated in the protest.


A large number of cadre of the AIADMK took part in the stir near the bus stand here. Transport Minister M.R. Vijayabaskar, who is also the district secretary of AIADMK, led the agitation. Krishnarayapuram MLA Geetha, former Minister Pappa Sundaram were among those who observed the fast.


Thamarai S. Rajendran, district secretary, who is also the Chief Government Whip, led the protest in Ariyalur. More than 1,000 cadre took part in the agitation. Former Minister M. Paranjothi and members of various wings of the AIADMK also observed fast.


Former Minister and State secretary of MGR youth wing N.R. Sivapathy led the fast near the new bus stand in Perambalur. District secretary and Kunnam MLA R.T. Ramachandran and a large number of cadre including women observed the fast.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.