2024 Lok Sabha elections to be held in 7 phases from April 19, results on June 4

Assembly elections for Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Odisha will also be simultaneously held along with the General Elections

Updated - May 13, 2024 07:36 am IST

Published - March 16, 2024 04:18 pm IST - New Delhi

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar addressing the media on General Election at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi on March 16, 2024.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar addressing the media on General Election at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi on March 16, 2024. | Photo Credit: Sushil Kumar Verma

India will go to the polls from April 19 to June 1, in a marathon seven-phase exercise to elect the 543 members of the 18th Lok Sabha, the Election Commission announced on March 16. Assembly elections will be held simultaneously in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh

The dates of polling for the Lok Sabha are April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1. In Bihar, West Bengal, and Uttar Pradesh, voting will take place in all seven phases. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.

Also Read:India General elections 2024 May 13 LIVE, Phase 4 elections

Voters in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will cast their ballots for their Assembly elections on April 19, while Andhra Pradesh will elect its Assembly on May 13. Odisha’s Assembly poll will be held in four phases, with voting on May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1.

Second-longest poll exercise

This parliamentary election — which is considered to be heavily stacked in favour of the ruling National Democratic Alliance led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, with the Opposition INDIA bloc struggling to keep its flock together — will be the second longest polling exercise in India’s electoral history. The longest so far was the country’s first general election, which was held over a five-month period between September 1951 and February 1952.

Watch | Lok Sabha and Assembly elections 2024 | Polling dates, States schedule and result date | Video Credit: Yuvasree S.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar announced the poll schedule, flanked by the two new Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and S.S. Sandhu. He said that bypolls to 26 Assembly constituencies will also be held alongside the Lok Sabha and four State Assembly polls.

Vote from home for seniors, PwD

India has a total of 96.8 crore registered voters, of which 49.72 crore are men and 47.1 crore are women. There are 1.82 crore first time electors, of which 85 lakh are women. Mr. Kumar said that the gender ratio among electors has improved significantly to 948 women for every 1,000 men, noting that there are more women than men voters in 12 States.

This is the first time in a general election that people above the age of 85 years, as well as those with more than 40% disability, will be able to vote from their own homes. There are 85 lakh registered voters who are aged above 85 years while the number of voters with disabilities is 88.4 lakh. The electoral rolls also contain 21.18 lakh centenarians.

Poll booths for Manipur refugees

The Commission said that it has reviewed the ground situation in Manipur and has noted that a large number of electors registered in different constituencies had been displaced from their native places during the recent ethnic conflict. Given these circumstances, special polling stations will be set up at or near the relief camps, where displaced electors who opt for such facilities will be able to register their votes in electronic voting machines.

The constituency of Outer Manipur will vote on two separate days. “We know the seat,” the CEC said, indicating awareness of the prevailing situation.

‘Calibrated response to MCC violations’

With the election dates having been announced, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into immediate effect and will be in force till the declaration of results.

The CEC flagged the challenges of what he called the ‘four Ms’: muscle power, money power, misinformation, and MCC violations. “I would appeal to parties to maintain decorum during the campaign and refrain from personal attacks,” Mr. Kumar said, adding that the ECI will have a “calibrated” response to MCC violations.

He added that all election management-related news on all the major national and regional news channels will be monitored vigorously. If any untoward incident or violation of any rule is noticed, action will be taken immediately, the CEC said.


The Election Commission on March 13 advanced the counting dates for the Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim from June 4 to June 2, since their current term of the Houses expires on June 2. There will be no change in the schedule with respect to the parliamentary constituencies in these States.

This article has been updated after the Election Commission advanced the counting dates of Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim Assembly elections to June 2.
0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.