Karnataka election results 2023 | Here’s how prominent leaders performed in the State

How have former chief ministers, their sons, and other popular leaders fared in the 2023 Karnataka State Assembly election?

May 13, 2023 03:36 pm | Updated 06:00 pm IST

Congress supporters celebrate outside a Karnataka Congress office in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Congress supporters celebrate outside a Karnataka Congress office in Bengaluru on Saturday. | Photo Credit: K. Murali Kumar/The Hindu

With wins in 48 seats and leads in another 89 at 3.00 p.m., Congress is moving close to attaining a majority in the 2023 Karnataka State Assembly elections. The incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 20 seats and is leading in 42 seats.

Also read | Karnataka election results live

Here’s how prominent leaders in the State are faring in the election.

Basavaraj Bommai

Current Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai won against Congress Party’s Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan in Shiggaon constituency of Karnataka.

As the results started pouring in on Saturday, Mr. Bommai conceded defeat in the election. “We could not make the mark despite a lot of efforts put in by everybody, right from our Prime Minister. Congress has been able to make the mark. Once the results come, we will do the detailed analysis. As a national political party, we will see what the gaps and deficiencies at different levels are. We will look into that,” Mr. Bommai told the media.

D.K. Shivakumar

Seven-time MLA and Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president D.K. Shivakumar retained his Kanakapura seat with an impressive majority of around 75% votes. His closest competitors were JD(S)’s B. Nagaraju with around 11% of the votes and BJP’s R. Ashoka with almost 10% of the votes.

Speaking to the press, Mr. Shivakumar thanked party leader Sonia Gandhi and the Gandhi family for their faith and trust as he broke down on camera.

H.D. Kumaraswamy

Former Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy won in the Channapatna constituency with almost 49% votes. BJP candidate C.P. Yogeshwara was not far behind and scored bagged almost 41% votes in the constituency.

Meanwhile, his son and actor-turned-politician Nikhil Kumaraswamy lost to Congress party’s H.A. Iqbal Hussain in Ramanagaram constituency.

“This loss is not final. I will continue with fight. I thank the voters for having voted for JD(S). Neither for me nor my family electoral losses are not new. My father H.D. Deve Gowda, brother H.D. Revanna and I have all lost elections before. I will strive to build the party’s organisation. Party cadre need not worry or become anxious,” Mr. Kumaraswamy said after the results started pouring in.

Vijayendra Yeddyurappa

Vijayendra Yeddyurappa, son of BJP leader and former Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa won in Shikaripura constituency of Karnataka, and his closest competitor was not another Congress or JD(S) leader but independent candidate S.P. Nagaraj Gowda, who was trailing close behind during most of the counting of votes.


Congress leader and another former Karnataka Chief Minister, Siddaramaiah emerged victorious in his constituency Varuna with around 60% votes. In a tweet, he credited Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra for improving the Congress party’s performance in the State election.

H.P. Swaroop

JD(S) candidate H.P. Swaroop, son of four-time MLA H.S. Prakash, won against BJP leader Preetham J. Gowda in Hassan constituency. Mr. Prakash, the JD(S) leader who represented Hassan four times, died in 2018 following multiple-organ failure.

Jagadish Shettar

Congress candidate and former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar lost to BJP candidate Mahesh Tenginakai in the Hubballi-Dharwad-Central constituency. Mr. Shettar was denied a ticket by the BJP, after which he quit the party and joined Congress in April 2023.

Priyank Kharge

Congress leader Priyank Kharge won in the Chittapur constituency of Karnataka against BJP leader Manikanta Rathod. In the run-up to the State Assembly election, an alleged audio of Mr. Rathod had gone viral in which he was heard purportedly saying that he will wipe out “Kharge, his wife and children”.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.