Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 — Wins: BJP 104, Congress 78, JD(S) 37

Siddaramaiah loses in Chamundeshwari, wins in Badami; BJP’s Yeddyurappa retains Shikaripura; JD(S) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy is leading in two seats.

May 15, 2018 09:21 am | Updated December 01, 2021 06:15 am IST

Counting of postal votes in progress at Maharani’s college in Mysuru on May 15, 2018.

Counting of postal votes in progress at Maharani’s college in Mysuru on May 15, 2018.

The BJP is set to emerge as the single largest party in the Karnataka Assembly Elections as counting of votes began on May 15 in the State’s 222 constituencies which went to polls on May 12. But the Congress and the JD(S), which are set to finish second and third have joined hands to stop the BJP on its tracks.


The BJP has won 104 seats. The Congress has won 78 seats. The JD(S) has won 37 seats and others 3, according to Election Commission.

Among others, the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party has won in Ranibennur and JD(S) ally BSP in Kollegal. An independent is leading in Mulbagal.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has lost in Chamundeshwari. JD(S) G.T. Deve Gowda has won the seat by by a margin of 36,042 votes.  In Badami, the Chief Minister has won by a slender margin of 1,696votes.

Yeddyurappa wins

BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa has won from Shikaripura by a margin of 35,397 votes. He secured 86, 983 votes against the 51,586 secured by Congress’ Goni Malatesha.

JD(S) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy has won the Ramanagaram seat by a margin of 22,636 votes. In Channapatna too Mr. Kumaraswamy has won. He defeated his BJP rival C.P. Yogeshwar by 21,530 votes.

BJP’s K.S. Eshwarappa, former Deputy Chief Minister, has won in Shivamogga by a margin of 46,107votes.

Congress's Karnataka unit chief G. Parameshwara is leading in Koratagere by 7,619 votes.

Counting of votes began at 8 a.m. at 38 centres in 30 districts where 72.36% of the 5.07 crore electorate polled across the State, an Election Commission of India official told IANS in Bengaluru.

Votes polled in 26 of the 28 Bengaluru’s urban and rural segments are being counted at four centres across the city.

“The poll panel has deployed 16,662 personnel to count votes in each segment and declare the result after the process is completed,” noted the official.

2,622 candidates

In all, 2,622 candidates, including 217 women, contested for the seats, which had 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes.

Election in Bengaluru’s Raja Rajeshwari (RR) Nagar was postponed to May 28 due to seizure of voter ID cards, and countermanded in the city’s Jayanagar seat due to the death of BJP candidate and MLA B.N. Vijaya Kumar on May 4. Counting of votes in RR Nagar will be taken up on May 31.

(With inputs from news agencies)

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.