K.G. Bopaiah: The Speaker who incurred Supreme Court’s wrath

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala on May 18 appointed Mr. Bopaiah as pro-tem Speaker.

Updated - May 19, 2018 10:15 pm IST

Published - May 18, 2018 05:10 pm IST

Speaker K.G. Bopaiah presides over an Assembly session on March 26, 2012.

Speaker K.G. Bopaiah presides over an Assembly session on March 26, 2012.

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala on May 18 appointed former Speaker K.G. Bopaiah as the pro-tem Speaker. He will be conducting the floor test on Saturday at 4 p.m., as mandated by the Supreme Court. Mr. Bopaiah was elected to the Assembly in the 2018 elections from the Virajpet constituency.

Mr. Bopaiah, an RSS worker and a four-time MLA, was the Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly from 2009 to 2013, a very controversial term at that. Even the Supreme Court made strong observations on a floor test he conducted in October 2010.

In October 2010, when then Chief Minister Yeddyurappa faced a trust vote Speaker Bopaiah, disqualified five independent MLAs and 11 BJP ones , for rebelling against the Chief Minister. The trust vote was also chaotic and his choice of voice vote had come under huge criticism. While the Speaker’s decision on disqualification of MLAs was upheld by the Karnataka High Court in February 2011, the Supreme Court later quashed the disqualification of MLAs making strong observations on the Speaker that he acted in “hot haste” and the proceedings he conducted on the disqualification application filed by Mr. Yeddyurappa did not meet the twin tests of natural justice and fair play.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.