• The Package

Maharashtra Assembly election results: All you need to know

On cloud nine: Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis addressing the media on Thursday.   | Photo Credit: Vivek Bendre

Even as the exit polls pointed out to a second term to the Devendra Fadnavis-led BJP government in Maharashtra, the Assembly election results came with many surprises.

The BJP-Shiv Sena combine will certainly be forming government in the western State, but the coalition won fewer seats than it did last elections. This also means the BJP will now have to accommodate the Shiv Sena in the Cabinet to ensure a  full term.

At least nine Ministers — two Cabinet Ministers and seven Ministers of State — of 37 Ministers faced defeat in the Assembly elections. Many turncoats were also rejected.

The Nationalist Congress Party chief was the man of the day as counting of votes for the Assembly elections progressed on Thursday. Proving all exit polls wrong, by the end of the day Mr. Pawar emerged as a leader who had steered the Opposition alliance past the 100-seat mark. The NCP now has upper hand in the alliance with Congress.

In This Package
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor