Maharashtra Assembly election results: All you need to know

A mixed bag for ‘others’

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen’s maintained its 2014 tally by winning two seats: Dhule City and Malegaon Central. The party, which had contested 44 seats, lost its two incumbent seats in Byculla and Aurangabad Central. The party had won the Aurangabad Lok Sabha seat a few months while being in an alliance with the Vanchit Bahujan Aaghadi (VBA).

The two parties, however, ended the alliance and decided to contest separately. The VBA failed to failed to win any seats despite contesting over 250 seats across the State. The closest it came to winning was in Murtizapur in Akola district, where its candidate Pratibha Awachar lost by around 2,000 votes. The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, which was contesting the elections for the first time since 2009, won the Kalyan Rural seat beating Shiv Sena candidate Ramesh Mhatre by a margin of 7,154 votes.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics

Printable version | Nov 29, 2021 2:14:54 PM |

Next Story