Maharashtra Assembly election results: All you need to know

First-timers blaze in, take home the prize

Rohit Pawar (34), the grand nephew of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Sharad Pawar, won by a big margin of 43,347 votes, defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Ram Shankar Shinde in Karjat-Jamkhed on Thursday. Many young politicians who made their debut in the electoral fray registered impressive wins.

While Mr. Pawar secured 1,35,824 votes, incumbent MLA Mr. Shinde trailed with 92,477 votes. The Congress’s Ruturaj Patil (29), grandson of Dr. D.Y. Patil and nephew of MLA and former State minister Satej Patil, won the Kolhapur South seat with 1,40,103 votes, defeating the BJP’s Amal Mahadik, who secured 97,394 votes.

In Shrivardhan, 28-year-old debutante Aditi Tatkare from the NCP won with 92,074 votes against Shiv Sena’s Vinod Ghosalkar, who won 52,453 votes. Ms. Tatkare, daughter of Raigad MP and senior NCP leader Sunil Tatkare, has time and again emphasised her vision for the constituency, emphasising on the achievements of her father over the years.

Namita Mundada, daughter-in-law of former minister and senior NCP leader Vimal Mundada, quit the NCP to join the BJP. She won by securing 1,23,433 votes in the Kaij constituency. She defeated the NCP’s Pruthviraj Shivaji Sathe by a margin of 32,909 votes. In 2014, Ms. Mundada suffered defeat at the hands of the BJP’s Sangeeta Thombre.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 24, 2021 7:14:42 PM |

Next Story