Maharashtra Assembly election results: All you need to know

Beyond Mumbai: sole MNS win apart, usual suspects romp home

Relishing victory: Ganesh Naik, BJP candidate from Airoli, greeting his supporters following his win on Thursday.  

The lone candidate from the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) to be elected in this election was from the Kalyan Rural constituency, while the usual suspects largely retained their hold over their home bases in Thane, Navi Mumbai and Palghar.

MNS candidate Pramod Patil beat Shiv Sena candidate Ramesh Mhatre by a margin of 7,154 votes on Thursday. Kalyan Rural was won by Sena’s Subhash Bhoir in 2014, who defeated Mr. Patil’s brother Ramesh by a margin of 44,212 votes.

The Kalyan East constituency witnessed Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Ganpat Gaikwad beating Independent candidate Dhananjay Bodare by 12,257 votes, while in Kalyan West, Sena’s Vishwanath Bhoir gained victory over Independent candidate Narendra Pawar, beating him by 22,277 votes.

Winning candidates Hitendra Thakur, chief of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, with his son Kshitij at Virar.

Winning candidates Hitendra Thakur, chief of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, with his son Kshitij at Virar.  

Meanwhile, Jitendra Awhad, sitting NCP MLA from Mumbra–Kalwa, was elected for the third time. Mr. Awhad won by a margin of 75,639 votes, with actor Dipali Sayyed, who was the Sena’s candidate, coming in second.

In Thane, BJP’s Mukund Kelkar won against Avinash Jadhav from the MNS by 19,424 votes. This is the second time that Mr. Kelkar has been elected from the same constituency.

In Palghar, too, the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) maintained its dominance, retaining its seats in Vasai, Nallasopara and Boisar. In spite of fielding strong candidates from all three constituencies, the Sena failed in its attempt to expand its base to the Vasai-Virar belt.

Former encounter specialist Pradeep Sharma lost to two-time MLA from Nallasopara Kshitij Thakur (BVA) by 43,724 votes. The police officer-turned-politician had aggressively campaigned against the BVA terming its dominance in the region as ‘a reign of terror’.

Mr. Thakur had won the 2014 elections by a margin of 54,499 votes, polling 1,13,566 votes against BJP candidate Rajan Naik.

In Vasai, BVA chief Hitendra Thakur won with a comfortable margin of 25,995 votes against Sena candidate Vijay Patil. Mr. Thakur, who declared on Tuesday that he would not contest elections henceforth, secured the Vasai seat for the sixth time in a row. Mr. Thakur had won the 2014 elections by a margin of 31,896 votes, which was 16.72% of the total votes polled.

Sitting MLA of Boisar Vilas Tare, who won the 2014 elections on a BVA ticket, had joined the Sena ahead of this election. However, Mr. Tare lost to Rajesh Patil of the BVA by a thin margin of 2,752 votes. Mr. Tare had secured this seat in 2014 by 12,873 votes against Sena candidate Anya Kamalakar.

Meanwhile, Vinod Nikole secured the sole Communist Party of India (Marxist) seat in Maharashtra from Dahanu constituency, defeating Paskal Dhanare of the BJP by 4,707 votes.

The Mira-Bhayandar constituency witnessed the victory of former Mira-Bhayandar Municipal Corporation mayor Geeta Jain against sitting MLA Narendra Mehta of the BJP. Ms. Jain, who contested as an Independent and gained fame as a BJP rebel ahead of the elections, defeated Mr. Mehta by a comfortable margin of 15,526 votes.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) won for the first time from Bhiwandi (East) where Raees Sheikh edged out sitting MLA Rupesh Mhatre from the Sena by a margin of 1,314 votes. Mr. Sheikh is a corporator in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation and was contesting from this seat for the first time. The SP had won this seat in 2009.

Meanwhile, in Navi Mumbai, former NCP leader Ganesh Naik’s move to the BJP ensured that the party had a clean sweep as he won the Airoli seat by 78,491 votes. Belapur was retained by BJP’s Manda Mhatre who had beaten Mr. Naik by a slender margin of 1,491 votes in 2014.

Prashant Thakur from the BJP retained the Panvel seat by a margin of 92,730 votes. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had held a rally in his constituency.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 24, 2021 1:37:46 AM |

Next Story