Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2024 | Highlights on May 25, 2024

According to data from the poll body, the turnout at 5 p.m. in East Delhi was at 53.69%, Chandni Chowk at 53.27%, North West Delhi at 53.17%, South Delhi at 51.84% and West Delhi 54.15%.

Updated - May 31, 2024 09:54 pm IST

Published - May 25, 2024 06:48 am IST

Women wait in queue at a polling station to cast their votes during the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, at Trilokpuri, in east Delhi, Saturday, May 25, 2024.

Women wait in queue at a polling station to cast their votes during the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, at Trilokpuri, in east Delhi, Saturday, May 25, 2024. | Photo Credit: PTI

This live is now closed.

A voter turnout of 53.73% was recorded in Delhi, where polling took place for its seven Lok Sabha constituencies on May 25. The highest turnout was recorded in the North East Delhi constituency at 57.97%, while the New Delhi seat had the lowest voting percentage at 50.44%.

Also read | India General Elections 2024 Phase 6 LIVE updates, May 25, 2024

In the National Capital, President Droupadi Murmu, Union ministers S. Jaishankar and Hardeep Singh Puri, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi minister Atishi, Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi and outgoing East Delhi MP Gautam Gambhir were among those who cast their votes. 

The minimum temperature in Delhi settled four notches above normal at 30.6 degrees Celsius on Saturday as Delhiites stepped out to vote. 

Watch | Who will win Lok Sabha elections? We asked people of Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded Kuldeep Kumar from the East Delhi seat, Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi, Somnath Bharti from New Delhi and Sahi Ram Pahalwan from South Delhi. The Congress has nominated J.P. Agarwal from the Chandni Chowk seat, Kanhaiya Kumar from North East Delhi and Udit Raj from the North West Delhi constituency.

The BJP candidates are Manoj Tiwari from North East Delhi, the only sitting MP from Delhi fielded by the party again; Ramvir Singh Bidhuri from South Delhi, Bansuri Swaraj from New Delhi, Harsh Deep Malhotra from East Delhi, Yogendra Chandolia from North West Delhi, Praveen Khandelwal from Chandni Chowk and Kamaljeet Sehrawat from West Delhi.

Also Read | Lok Sabha constituencies and States going to polls in Phase 6

However, the excitement of casting votes in the Lok Sabha polls was short-lived for some electors in Delhi, who found their names missing from the voters’ list, even as they claimed that their documents were in order.

    0 / 0
    Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
    • Access 10 free stories every month
    • Save stories to read later
    • Access to comment on every story
    • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
    • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
    Sign in


    Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

    We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.