Cricket Australia swaps first two games of ODI tri-series

December 02, 2014 02:56 pm | Updated November 16, 2021 06:56 pm IST - Adelaide

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland. File photo

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland. File photo

India will now take on Australia in the second ODI of the tri-series, also involving England, on January 18 after Cricket Australia decided to swap the first two matches to give appropriate recovery time to the Indian players following the rescheduling of the four-Test series.

According to the revised schedule, the first match of the series will now be played between Australia and England at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on January 16, while India will take on the hosts in the second game at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Earlier, India were supposed to play Australia in the opening match of the tri-series, after their tour-game against England at Drummoyne Oval in Sydney on January 12.

India will now play a tour match with the date and venue yet to be confirmed.

“This change was required to provide the Indian players appropriate recovery time after the tour match which follows the Commonwealth Bank Sydney Test in the lead up to their first Carlton Mid ODI Tri Series match,” Cricket Australia said in a release.

“We can confirm the traditional Prime Minister’s XI match against England at Manuka Oval remains unchanged, and will be played on 14 January 2015.

“England will now play a Tour match against an ACT XI on 12 January 2015 at Manuka Oval, which was previously to be against India at Drummoyne Oval in Sydney. India will instead play a Tour match with the date and venue to be announced soon,” it added.

As per the revised Test itinerary released by CA last night, the first Test of the four-match series, which was originally scheduled in Brisbane from December 4, will now be played in Adelaide from December 9-12, while second game will be held in Brisbane from December 17-21.

The Boxing Day Test — the third one of the 2014-15 Border-Gavaskar Trophy — was the only Test whose schedule has remained unchanged. It will start in Melbourne on December 26.

The fourth and final Test will now be played in Sydney but with a delay of three days, now starting on January 6 instead of January 3. Thus, the last Test, which was suppose to finish on January 7, will now end on January 10.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said, “In light of recent scheduling changes, we have attempted to minimise the impact on the series.”

“We appreciate the patience of our fans as we continue to work through the impacts of these changes. At the same time, we look forward to an exciting Carlton Mid ODI Tri Series with England and India, which will be a fitting lead-in to the ICC Cricket World Cup commencing in February,” he added.

Revised schedule for tri-series:

Jan. 16 : Australia v England at SCG (Changed from Jan 18)

Jan. 18 : Australia v India at MCG (Changed from Jan 16)

Jan. 20 : England v India at Gabba

Jan. 23 : Australia v England at Blundstone Arena

Jan. 26 : Australia v India at SCG

Jan. 30 : India v England at WACA

Feb. 1 : Final at WACA.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.