Three new SC judges may be sworn in today

July 07, 2014 05:17 am | Updated November 17, 2021 03:37 am IST - New Delhi:

Three new judges, including senior advocate Rohinton Nariman, are likely to be sworn in on Monday in the Supreme Court.

This will take the total number of of Supreme Court judges from 25 to 28.

Though no formal notice has been issued about the swearing-in of the new Supreme Court judges — Chief Justices of the Calcutta and Orissa High Courts, Arun Mishra and Adarsh Kumar Goel, respectively, and Mr. Nariman — the causelist for July 7 2014, shows three blanks for three judges.

“The blanks on the causelist indicate that the three judges will be sworn in on Monday. We have not, however, received any notice,” Rakesh Sharma, Supreme Court PRO, said on Sunday.

The first Bench will comprise Chief Justice of India R.M. Lodha, Justice Kurian Joseph and one of the new judges.

The second judge will preside with Justice H.L. Dattu and the third with Justice T.S. Thakur.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.