Three judges appointed to Supreme Court

President Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday appointed the Chief Justices of Calcutta and Orissa High Courts, Arun Mishra and Adarsh Kumar Goel respectively, and senior lawyer Rohinton Nariman as Supreme Court judges.

The warrant of appointment has been issued and the three judges are to be sworn in soon after the court re-opens on June 30. With their appointment, the strength of judges in the court will go up to 28, as against the sanctioned strength of 31.

Justice Goel (60), who hails from Haryana, was elevated as judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court on July 2, 2001.He will be the first judge to represent Haryana in the court and he will have a term of a little over five years.Justice Arun Mishra (58), who hails from Madhya Pradesh, was appointed judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court in October 1999. He will represent Madhya Pradesh after Justice Deepak Verma, who retired in August 2012. He will have a tenure of about seven years.Mr. Nariman is the fifth lawyer to be elevated as a Supreme Court judge after almost 15 years. He was designated as a senior advocate at the age of 37 in 1993 He was appointed Solicitor-General in July 2011 after Gopal Subramanium resigned. He will have a term of about seven years.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 5, 2021 10:40:16 PM |

Next Story