List of Padma awardees

Padma Awards for Jaspal Bhatti, Gayatri Spivak, Sridevi

Updated - November 16, 2021 10:33 pm IST

Published - January 26, 2013 03:20 am IST - New Delhi

The following is the list of Padma awardees announced by the Central government on January 25, 2013:

Padma Vibhushan

Raghunath Mohapatra, Art, Orissa; S. Haider Raza, Art, Delhi; Prof. Yash Pal, Science and Engineering, Uttar Pradesh; Prof. Roddam Narasimha, Science and Engineering, Karnataka

Padma Bhushan

Dr. Ramanaidu Daggubati, Art, Andhra Pradesh; Sreeramamurthy Janaki, Art, Tamil Nadu; Dr. (Smt.) Kanak Rele, Art, Maharashtra; Sharmila Tagore, Art, Delhi; Dr. (Smt) Saroja Vaidyanathan, Art, Delhi; Abdul Rashid Khan, Art, West Bengal; Late Rajesh Khanna, Art, Maharashtra; Late Jaspal Singh Bhatti, Art, Punjab; Shivajirao Girdhar Patil, Public Affairs, Maharashtra; Dr. Apathukatha Sivathanu Pillai, Science, Engineering Delhi; Dr. Vijay Kumar Saraswat, Science and Engineering, Delhi; Dr. Ashoke Sen Science and Engineering Uttar Pradesh; N. Suresh, Science and Engineering, Karnataka; Prof. Satya N. Atluri, Science and Engineering, USA; Prof. Jogesh Chandra Pati, Science and Engineering, USA.

Padma Shri

B. Jayashree, Art, from Karnataka, film director Ramesh Sippy, noted photo journalist Pablo Bartholomew, the late Manju Bharat Ram (social work), Vandana Luthra (trade and commerce) and fashion designer Ritu Kumar; theatre artists from Jammu and Kashmir Balwant Thakur and Rajendra Tikku and Ghulam Mohammed Saznawaz; noted oncologist Pramod Kumar Julka; eminent entrepreneur from Coimbatore Rajshree Pathy; noted Urdu poet Nida Fazli; anthropologist and art historian Christopher Pinney; Urdu poet, the late Salik Lakhnawi; Chairperson of the Centre for Linguistics of JNU Anvita Abbi; Sanskrit writer Rama Kant Shukla; Mustansir Barma of the Department of Theoretical Physics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

Mahrukh Tarapor, Art, Maharashtra; Balwant Thakur, Art, Jammu and Kashmir; Puran Das Baul, Art, West Bengal; Rajendra Tikku, Art, Jammu and Kashmir; Shri S. Shakir Ali, Art, Rajasthan; S..K.M Maeilanandhan, Social Work, Tamil Nadu; Nileema Mishra, Social Work, Maharashtra; Reema Nanavati, Social Work, Gujarat; Jharna Dhara Chowdhury, Social Work, Bangladesh; Late Dr Ram Krishan, Social Work, Uttar Pradesh; Avinash Chander, Science and Engineering, Delhi; Sanjay Govind Dhande, Science and Engineering, Uttar Pradesh; Prof. (Dr.) Sankar Kumar Pal, Science, Engineering, West Bengal; Deepak B Phatak, Science and Engineering, Maharashtra; Dr. Mudundi Ramakrishna Raju, Science and Engineering, Andhra Pradesh; Prof. Ajay K. Sood, Science and Engineering, Karnataka; Prof. Krishnaswamy Vijayraghavan, Science & Engineering, Karnataka; Dr. Manindra Agrawal, Science and Engineering, Uttar Pradesh; Dr. Jayaraman Gowrishankar, Science & Engineering, Andhra Pradesh; Prof. Sharad Pandurang Kale, Science & Engineering, Maharashtra; Hemendra Prasad Barooah, Trade and Industry, Assam

Milind Kamble, Trade and Industry, Maharashtra; Kalpana Saroj, Trade and Industry, Maharashtra; Dr. Sudarshan K Aggarwal, Medicine, Delhi; Dr. C. Venkata S. Ram , Medicine, Andhra Pradesh; Dr Rajendra Achyut Badwe, Medicine, Maharashtra; Dr. Taraprasad Das, Medicine, Orissa; Prof. (Dr.) T.V. Devarajan, Medicine, Tamil Nadu; Prof. (Dr.) Saroj Chooramani Gopal, Medicine, Uttar Pradesh; Dr. Pramod Kumar Julka, Medicine, Delhi; Dr. Gulshan Rai Khatri, Medicine, Delhi; Dr. Ganesh Kumar Mani, Medicine, Delhi; Dr. Amit Prabhakar Maydeo, Medicine, Maharashtra; Dr. Sundaram Natarajan, Medicine, Maharashtra; Prof. Krishna Chandra Chunekar, Medicine, Uttar Pradesh; Dr. Vishwa Kumar Gupta, Medicine, Delhi; Prof. (Capt.) Dr M. Sharaf-eAlam, Literature & Education, Bihar; Dr. Radhika Herzberger, Literature & Education, Andhra Pradesh; J. Malsawma, Literature and Education, Mizoram; Devendra Patel, Literature & Education, Gujarat; Prof Akhtarul Wasey, Literature & Education, Delhi; Surender Kumar Sharma, Literature & Education, Delhi; Dr. Jagdish Prasad Singh, Literature & Education, Bihar; the Late Shaukat Riaz Kapoor Alias Salik Lakhnawi, Literature & Education, West Bengal. Prof. Noboru Karashima, Literature & Education, Japan; Premlata Agrawal, Sports, Jharkhand; Yogeshwar Dutt, Sports, Haryana; Hosanagara Nagarajegowda Girisha, Sports, Karnataka; Subedar Major Vijay Kumar, Sports, Himachal Pradesh; Ngangom Dingko Singh, Sports, Maharashtra; Naib Subedar Bajrang Lal Takhar, Sports, Rajasthan; Dr. Ravindra Singh Bisht, Archaeology, Uttar Pradesh.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.