Andhra Pradesh

State reaps Padma bonanza big time

Well-known film producer D. Rama Naidu was conferred with Padma Bhushan, while six others who distinguished themselves in different fields and domiciled in Andhra Pradesh, were given Padma Shri.

Those who were awarded Padma Shri are: master handloom designer Gajam Anjaiah; Mudundi Ramakrishna Raju (science and engineering); Rekandar Nageswara Rao alias Surabhi Babji, secretary of Sri Venkateswara Natya Mandali; Director of Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics (CDFD), J. Gowrishankar; Dr. C. Venkata S. Ram, president and CEO of Mediciti and expert in hypertension treatment; and Dr. Radhika Herzberger, Director of Rishi Valley School, Madanapalle, (Literature and Education).

Prominent names

Although they are not domiciled, six others with strong connections to the State also figure prominently in the list of awardees.

DRDO chief V.K. Saraswat, US-based aerospace engineer Satya Atluri, and playback singer S. Janaki were conferred Padma Bhushan, while noted film director Bapu (Lakshminarayana Sathiraju), DRDO Chief Controller, Avinash Chander, and Sridevi Kapoor were awarded Padma Shri.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 24, 2022 8:39:45 PM |

Next Story