Padma Vibhushan for Yash Pal, Roddam, S.H. Raza, Mohapatra

Noted physicist Yash Pal and space scientist Roddam Narasimha were on Friday chosen for this year’s Padma Vibhushan while yesteryear film actors late Rajesh Khanna and Sharmila Tagore and cricketer Rahul Dravid were selected for Padma Bhushan.

Renowned sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra and painter S. Haider Raza were chosen for Padma Vibhushan as the government came out with a list of 108 Padma awardees that included actress Sridevi, actors Nana Patekar and Malayalam star Madhu of Chemmeen fame and Olympians Mary Kom, Yogeshwar Dutt and Vijay Kumar.

In all four personalities were awarded Padma Vibhushan, 24 Padma Bhushan and 80 Padma Shri. Of the awardees 24 are women, 11 belong to the category of foreigners, NRI, PIOs and posthumous.

Nobody was named for Bharat Ratna for this year too. The last awardee was late Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.

Satirist Jaspal Bhatti, who died in a road accident last year, filmmaker D. Rama Naidu, noted South Indian playback singer S. Janaki, Bharatnatyam dancer Saroja Vaidyanathan, missile scientist A. Sivathanu Pillai of BrahMos programme, industrialists Adi Godrej and R. Thyagarajan, former bureaucrat M.K. Bhan were among the 24 Padma Bhushan awardees.

Among the Padma Shri awardees are B. Jayashree (art) from Karnataka, film Director of Sholay fame Ramesh Sippy, noted Photo journalist Pablo Bartholomew, late Manju Bharat Ram (social work), Vandana Luthra (trade and commerce) and fashion designer Ritu Kumar.

Theatre artistes from Jammu and Kashmir Balwant Thakur and Rajendra Tikku and Ghulam Mohammed Saznawaz were chosen for Padma Shri.

Noted Oncologist Pramod Kumar Julka, eminent entrepreneur from Coimbatore Rajshree Pathy, Urdu Poet Nida Fazli, anthropologist and art historian from the U.S. Christopher Pinney, Urdu poet Salik Lakhnawi, who died early this month, were awarded Padma Shri.

Chairperson of Centre for Linguistics of JNU Anvita Abbi, Sanskrit writer Rama Kant Shukla, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research physicist Mustansir Barma were among the Padma Shri awardees.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 3, 2021 7:45:28 PM |

Next Story