Punjab Election Results 2024 highlights: Congress wins from Jalandhar, Amritsar, Fatehgarh Sahib and Patiala

Punjab election results 2024: Congress won seven seats , Shiromani Akali Dal won one seat, the Aam Aadmi Party won three seats

Updated - June 05, 2024 12:21 am IST

Published - June 04, 2024 07:56 am IST

Amritsar, Apr 15 (ANI): Former Punjab CM and Congress candidate from Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat, Charanjit Singh Channi speaks to the media on his candidature for the Lok Sabha elections, at Golden Temple in Amritsar on Monday. (ANI Photo)

Amritsar, Apr 15 (ANI): Former Punjab CM and Congress candidate from Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat, Charanjit Singh Channi speaks to the media on his candidature for the Lok Sabha elections, at Golden Temple in Amritsar on Monday. (ANI Photo) | Photo Credit: ANI

The Congress won seven parliamentary seats in Punjab and the Aam Aadmi Party won three seats. The Shiromani Akali Dal bagged one seat while Independents won two seats. 

Punjab found itself embroiled in a battle of many contenders. The first of the paradigm has INDIA bloc partners, AAP and Congress, competing against each other. AAP came to power in the State with a thumping majority ousting Congress. Through the campaign leaders on both sides were particularly critical of the other. The Shrimoni Akali Dal (SAD) and Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), former alliance partners, are contesting separately. 

Also Read: Election Results 2024 LIVE updates

Elections in the state were held in a single-phase on June 1. The state with 13 Lok Sabha constituencies witnessed a turnout of 58.33%. 

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

The mood was captured in The Hindu’s earlier report stating, AAP faces critical test, Akali Dal fights to regain relevance and Congress hopes to improve tally. 

In 2019, Congress had secured eight seats with 41% vote share while AAP secured Sangrur – the seat that was held by incumbent Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann before he moved to the state’s top administrative post. BJP and SAD won one vote each. 

General Election 2024: full schedule

This LIVE is now closed

  • June 04, 2024 17:46
    Amritsar goes to Congress

    Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla secures the Amritsar seat over his nearest rival Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal of AAP by a margin of 40,300 votes. 

  • June 04, 2024 17:08
    Congress emerges winner from Patiala

    Congress’ Dharamvir Gandhi emerged winner from Patiala having defeated his nearest rival Balbir Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party by a margin of 14,831 votes. 

    As per latest trends, it is leading in another 4 seats, AAP in 2 and SAD in 1. 

  • June 04, 2024 17:05
    SAD’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal leading by 50,000 votes in Bhatinda
  • June 04, 2024 15:52
    AAP gets back Sangrur seat

    AAP’s Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer won the Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency by a margin of more than 1.72 lakh against his nearest rival Sukhpal Singh Khaira of the Congress. The seat belonged to the present Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann before he took to the top administrative post in his home state in 2022. 

  • June 04, 2024 15:42
    Congress secures second win from Punjab

    Congress candidate from Fatehgarh Sahib Amar Singh defeated AAP’s Gurpreet Singh GP by 34,202 votes. 

  • June 04, 2024 14:18
    Former Congress Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi emerges winner from Jalandhar

    The Congress candidate from Jalandhar Charanjit Singh Channi secured the victory by a margin of approx 1.76 lakh votes. He bagged 3.9 lakh votes in comparison to BJP’s Sushil Kumar Rinku who bagged 2.14 lakh votes. Mr Rinku had quit AAP to join BJP in the run-up to the elections. 

  • June 04, 2024 11:22
    Volatility in leads continue: Congress lead in 6, AAP 3, SAD-Independents 2 each

    Congress is leading in the more important constituencies of Ludhiana, Gurdaspur, Amritsar and Patiala with former CM Charanjit Singh Channi looking to expand his current lead margin of 92,000 votes in Jalandhar. AAP is presently leading in Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib and Sangrur. 

    SAD’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal has expanded her margin of lead in Bhatinda to over 26,000. 

  • June 04, 2024 10:50
    Shiromoni Akali Dal’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal secures lead in Bhatinda

    Shiromoni Akali Dal’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal is leading in Bhatindra by about 15,000 votes to AAP’s Gurmeet Singh Khudian. The three-time MP is looking to secure another term as a representative from Bhatinda in the House of People in Delhi. 

  • June 04, 2024 10:25
    Congress ahead in 7 seats, AAP in 3, Shiromani Akali Dal in 1

    Congress finds itself ahead in 7 seats, including Gurdaspur, Jalandhar, Ludhiana and Patiala. AAP is looking to retain its lead in Sangrur, Hoshiarpur and Anandpur Sahib. Whilst the breakaway NDA-ally, Shiromani Akali Dal’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal finds herself back in the lead in Bhatinda. Independent candidates are leading Sarabjit Singh Khalsa and Amritpal Singh are leading in Faridkot and Khadoor Sahib repsectively. 

  • June 04, 2024 09:13
    Volatile trends in early hours: Congress-AAP ahead in 5 seats each, independents leading in 2

    The multi-cornered fight in the northern state has Congress ahead in Gurdaspur, Jalandhar, Anandpur Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib and Firozpur. Former CM Charanjit Singh Channi is leading in Jalandhar. However, the leads continue to be volatile with constant alterations towards the road to the country’s House of the People. 

  • June 04, 2024 08:50
    Early leads: Former Punjab CM Charanjit Singh Channi secures early lead in Jalandhar, AAP ahead in 3 seats

    Early trends sees AAP ahead in three seats, namely, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib and Sangrur - the latter being the constituency erstwhile represented by incumbent CM Bhagwant Mann. Congress have secured leads in two constituencies, including Jalandhar being represented by former CM Charanjit Singh Channi. Breakaway NDA ally Shrimoni Akali Dal’s stalwart Harsimrat Kaur Badal is ahead in Bhatinda. 

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.