Kerala General Election 2024 full schedule | All you need to know about the Lok Sabha election in Kerala

Kerala to host 18th Lok Sabha election polls on April 26 with tough competition in key constituencies

April 22, 2024 02:50 pm | Updated April 26, 2024 09:57 am IST

Kerala General Election 2024 to be held on April 26

Kerala General Election 2024 to be held on April 26

On March 16 the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced that Kerala will host the 18th Lok Sabha elections on April 26. This year the General Election is taking place in seven phases. Voting in Kerala will take place in the second phase of the polls along with other 13 States. The vote counting will take place on June 4. April 4 was the deadline for nominations, while April 8 was the deadline for nomination withdrawals.

Also Read: 2024 Lok Sabha elections Phase 2 LIVE: April 26

Kerala will go on a single poll date on April 26 unlike States like Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal which have multiple poll dates. Kerala holds 20 constituencies and is ranked 12th in terms of the number of constituencies it has. Out of 20 constituencies, two seats — Alathur and Mavelikara — are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates.


Kerala, mainly is a safe State for the Congress in the General Election. The Congress was able to keep its grounds in Kerala by winning 19 seats out of 20 in 17th Lok Sabha polls. For 2024 Lok Sabha elections from Left Democratic Parties (LDF), the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)) is contesting for 15 seats, the Communist Party of India (CPI) for four seats and Kerala Congress M (KCEM) for one seat.

Also read: 2024 Kerala Lok Sabha elections Phase 2 LIVE: April 26

From the United Democratic Front (UDF), the Indian National Congress (INC)  is contesting for 16 seats, the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) for 2 seats, the Kerala Congress (KEC) and the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) for one seat. The INC is the major party in INDIA bloc and the LDF is also supporting the alliance. From the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) — the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contesting for 16 seats and the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) for four seats.

The BJP has never opened an account in Kerala. For 2019 General Election the BJP got zero seat from the State.

But in 2019, the BJP got major vote shares from the Assembly segments of constituencies like Kasargod, Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta and Attingal.

The major candidates include K.K. Shailaja (CPI(M)), Shafi Parambil (INC), Thomas Issac (CPI(M)), A.M. Arrif [CPI(M), V. Muraleedharan (BJP), A. Vijayaraghavan [CPI(M)], Elamaram Kareem [CPI(M), M.K. Raghavan (INC). M. Abdul Salam is the sole muslim candidate from the BJP contesting from Kerala.

Constituencies such as Thiruvananthapuram, Wayanad and Kollam are poised to have a tough competition. Parties have fielded their strong candidates in all these constituencies. In Thiruvananthapuram incumbent MP Shashi Tharoor (INC) is contesting against Union Minister Rajeev Chandrashekar (BJP) and Pannyan Raveendran (CPI). In Wayanad sitting MP  Rahul Gandhi (INC) is contesting against Annie Raja (CPI) and K. Surendran (BJP). In Kollam Sitting MP Mukesh (CPI(M)) is contesting with N.K. Premachandran (RSP) and G. Krishnakumar (BJP).

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.