The Congress on Friday officially announced to join the government-in-waiting in Jharkhand, a senior Congress leader said.

“On the advice of our national leadership, PCC (Pradesh Congress Committee) president Sukdhdeo Bhagat announced that Congress Legislature Party leader Rajendra Prasad Singh would take oath as a Minister in the event of Governor Syed Ahmed inviting JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) leader Hemant Soren to take oath as the Chief Minister tomorrow,” PCC spokesman Sailesh Kumar Sinha said in Ranchi.

Raj Bhavan is waiting for a formal communication from the Centre after the Union Cabinet, on Thursday, recommended revocation of President’s rule in the State. Mr. Soren staked claim on July 9, to form government with the support of 43 MLAs in the 82-member house.

“The RJD has already announced its willingness to join the government. Our legislature party leader Annapurna Devi has been cleared by the party leadership to take oath as and when the Governor invites Soren for the swearing-in ceremony,” Rashtriya Janata Dal’s (RJD’s) State unit spokesman Manoj Kumar said.

As of now, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha Legislature Party (JMM-LP) leader Hemant Soren, who is set to head the ninth coalition government in Jharkhand, would expand the Ministry apparently after the floor test, sources in the JMM said.

As per the Constitutional provision, Jharkhand can have a maximum of 12 Ministers, including the first among equals.