Other States

Hemant Soren inducts 3 more ministers


The Hemant Soren led UPA government in Jharkhand was expanded on Saturday with the induction of three more ministers taking the total number of ministers in the state to 12 including the chief minister.

In a simple swearing in ceremony at the Raj Bhavan here, Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath of office and secrecy to Chandrasekhar Dubey (popularly known as Dadai Dubey), Manan Malik and Yogendra Sao.

All the newly-inducted ministers are from the Congress.

Mr Soren had inducted six ministers on August 4 after taking oath along with Congress Legislature Party leader R P Singh and RJD-LP leader Annapurna Devi on July 13.

As per the Constitution, Jharkhand can have a maximum of 12 ministers, including the chief minister, which Mr Soren completed now.

The JMM and the Congress have five ministers each while the RJD has two in the Hemant Soren-led coalition government.

Backed by Congress, RJD, smaller parties and Independent MLAs, the JMM had on July 9 staked claim to form the government under the leadership of its leader Hemant Soren and sailed through the floor test on July 18.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 27, 2020 3:44:24 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/hemant-soren-inducts-3-more-ministers/article5055835.ece

Next Story