Supreme Court gets three new judges

With this, the apex court is three short of the sanctioned strength of 31 judges.

July 07, 2014 03:00 pm | Updated November 17, 2021 03:37 am IST - New Delhi

The Chief Justices of the Calcutta and Orissa High Courts, Arun Kumar Mishra and Adarsh Kumar Goel, and senior lawyer Rohinton Nariman were on Monday sworn in as Supreme Court judges.

They were administered the oath of office by Chief Justice of India R.M. Lodha at a brief ceremony, held in the court hall of the CJI, attended by all the judges, law officers and family members of the new judges. The strength of judges in the apex court has now gone up to 27, against the sanctioned strength of 31.

The collegium is expected to fill a few more vacancies shortly. Following the superannuation of Justice Gyan Sudha Misra in April, there is at present only one woman judge, Ranjana Desai, who too will retire in October.

Mr. Nariman is the fifth lawyer to be elevated as a Supreme Court judge . Justice Goel, 60, will be the first judge to represent Haryana in the court and will have a tenure of a little over five years.

Justice Arun Mishra, 58, from Madhya Pradeshwill have a tenure of about seven years.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.