wins “News Start-Up of the Year’’ award

NDTV's Sreenivasan Jain has won the `Journalist of the Year’ award, for his series ‘Truth versus Hype’.

Published - April 27, 2015 09:21 pm IST - Mumbai, a digital daily founded by senior journalist-author Naresh Fernandes, has been adjudged the ‘News Start-up of the Year’ at the RedInk journalism awards instituted by the Press Club, Mumbai. will be awarded the ‘News Start-up of the Year’ for scaling up its influence rapidly as an alternative source of news and features,” a media release from the Press Club said. is one of the first digital news start-ups launched in January 2013 which became rapidly popular and a model for other such initiatives.

NDTV’s founder Dr Prannoy Roy will be honoured with the 2015 lifetime achievement award for excellence in journalism at the awards ceremony at NCPA scheduled on Thursday.

The `Journalist of the Year’, instituted for the first time, has gone to Sreenivasan Jain of NDTV for his consistent investigative work epitomised in his series ‘Truth versus Hype’ and other programmes,” the release said. 25 other journalists including Arnab Goswami of Times Now will be awarded in 10 categories for their work in calendar year 2014.


0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.