Other States

Uttar Pradesh Cabinet nod for Faizabad name change

The Uttar Pradesh cabinet on Tuesday approved a proposal to change the name of Faizabad district to Ayodhya, a week after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath made the announcement on the eve of Diwali.

Along with the district, Faizabad division has also been renamed Ayodhya. The districts of Ambedkar Nagar, Barabanki, Amethi, Faizabad (now Ayodhya) and Sultanpur comprise the administrative division and the contours will remain the same.

The district headquarter, however, won’t change and will remain Faizabad, said Awanish Awasthi, principal secretary Information Department.

‘It is justified’

The government note on the name change said the proposal of the district magistrate was “justified” on the basis of “facts” that Ayodhya had been the capital of the legendary “Ishvaku dynasty” and the birthplace of Lord Ram.

“Ayodhya has been the capital of many states and dynasties across time. In far away lands as well, this land has been identified as Ayodhya,” the note said.

While celebrating the Deepotsav in Ayodhya last week, Mr. Adityanath said the town was the symbol of “our honour and pride.”

The State cabinet also changed the name of Allahabad Division to Prayagraj Division, weeks after changing the name of the district.

The Allahabad Division comprises of Allahabad, Kaushambi, Pratapgarh and Fatehpur districts.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 22, 2021 9:51:52 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/uttar-pradesh-cabinet-nod-for-faizabad-name-change/article25487758.ece

Next Story