Two Gujarat Congress MLAs resign ahead of Rajya Sabha polls

Congress MLAs Akshay Patel and Jitu Chaudhary have resigned

Updated - June 04, 2020 02:07 pm IST

Published - June 04, 2020 01:15 pm IST - Ahmedabad

A view of the Gujarat Assembly building in Gandhinagar. File

A view of the Gujarat Assembly building in Gandhinagar. File

Gujarat Congress legislators Akshay Patel and Jitu Chaudhary have tendered their resignation in a major blow to the party ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls for four seats scheduled to be held on June 19 in the State.

So far, seven legislators have resigned from the party, bringing its tally down to 66 in the Assembly.

Also read:Tight fight for Gujarat Rajya Sabha seats

The Opposition party has fielded Shaktisinh Gohil and Bharatsinh Solanki for two seats while the BJP has fielded three candidates for the four seats.

Now with reduced numbers, the Congress is likely to see only one leader of it making it to the Rajya Sabha while BJP is likely to retain all the three seats it held.

“Congress MLAs Jitu Chaudhary and Akshay Patel have resigned from the House,” said Assembly Speaker Rajendra Trivedi said in a statement.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.