Cabinet panel clears Bahraich-Khalilabad rail line in Uttar Pradesh

It is estimated to cost ₹ 4,939.78 crore

October 24, 2018 10:20 pm | Updated 10:20 pm IST - New Delhi

Google Maps image locates Bahraich and Khalilabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Google Maps image locates Bahraich and Khalilabad in Uttar Pradesh.

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs on Wednesday approved a new railway line between Bahraich and Khalilabad (in Uttar Pradesh) with an estimated project cost of ₹4,939.78 crore.

The total length of the new broad gauge line will be 240.26 km, an official statement said.

The new line, which will cross towns such as Bhigna, Shravastk, Balrampur, Utraula, Domariyaganj, Mehdawal and Bansi, is expected to be completed by 2024-25. Stating that the project will generate direct employment of about 57.67 lakh man-days during construction, the government said the new line would provide basic infrastructure support for industrial development having large socio-economic ramification.

“It will provide a direct broad gauge route to the project area which may boost the economic development of the region. This will also provide an alternative route of Bahraich-Khalilabad and connect border districts to each other,” it added.

“Four districts falling in this project length i.e. Bahraich, Balrampur, Shravasti and Siddharth Nagar are among the 115 aspirational districts identified by the NITI Aayog. Hence, this project is needed for better socio-economic development of the hinterland of this area with the help of rail network,” the statement said.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.