DEMU Express Special to be converted to MEMU only on March 1 now

January 21, 2024 11:25 pm | Updated January 23, 2024 10:52 pm IST - Belagavi

South Western Railway earlier announced that the DEMU trains will be converted to MEMU on January 15, 2024.

South Western Railway earlier announced that the DEMU trains will be converted to MEMU on January 15, 2024. | Photo Credit: SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

South Western Railway has said that Train Nos 06511/06512 Banaswadi-Tumakuru Unreserved DEMU Express Special and Train Nos 06513/06514 Tumakuru-Shivamogga Town-Tumakuru Unreserved DEMU Express Special will now be converted into MEMU (Mainline Electric Multiple Unit) on March 1.

Earlier, it was notified that it will be effective on January 15, 2024. The change has been made due to operational constraints, said a release.

Partial cancellation

In connection with essential engineering work related to the construction of a subway in lieu of Level Crossing Gate No 63 between Koppal and Ginigera, there will be temporary partial cancellation and regulation of train services.

Train No 11305 Solapur-Hosapete Express journey between January 22 and 31 will be partially cancelled between Gadag-Hosapete and it will short terminate at Gadag during the specified period.

Train No 11306 Hosapete-Solapur Express will originate from Gadag between January 23 and February 1 and it will be partially cancelled between Hosapete-Gadag.


Train No 17330 Vijayawada-SSS Hubballi Daily Express journey from Vijayawada on January 22, 23, 29 and 31 will be regulated for 40 minutes en route.


South Central Railway has notified cancellation of the following trains due to operational reasons: Train No 07153 Narasapur-Sir M. Visvesvaraya Terminal Bengaluru Express Special will be cancelled on January 26.

Train No 07154 Sir M. Visvesvaraya Terminal Bengaluru-Narasapur Express Special will be cancelled on January 27.


Northern Railway has notified diversion of trains due to Infrastructure related works in Lucknow-Bara Banki-Ayodhya Cant-Shahganj-Zafarabad sections in Lucknow division.

Train No 15023 Gorakhpur-Yesvantpur Express leaving Gorakhpur on January 23 will be diverted to run via Gorakhpur, Gonda and Bara Banki.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.