Basavashree Award for P. Sainath

Published - October 13, 2017 12:07 pm IST - Chitradurga

Renowned journalist and Ramon Magsaysay award winner P. Sainath

Renowned journalist and Ramon Magsaysay award winner P. Sainath

The Basavashree Award for 2016 will be presented to renowned journalist and Ramon Magsaysay award winner P. Sainath for his achievements and contributions to the field of journalism. An announcement in this regard was made by Shivamurthy Muruga Sharana of Bruhanmutt Chitradurga here.

The Basavashree Award carries a purse of Rs. 5 lakh, a certificate and a citation. The award will be presented to Mr. Sainath on October 23 at a function at the Muruga Mutt. The swami said the award is given to accomplished people for their distinguished service to society by following the principles of the 12th century social reformer Basaveshwara.

Mr. Sainath is the founder-editor of People's Archive of Rural India and was earlier the rural affairs editor at The Hindu .

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.