Posthumous Padma Vibhushan for Mulayam Singh Yadav, ORS pioneer Dilip Mahalanabis

The list of top civilian honours to recognise distinguished service includes nine Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri awards; 19 of the 106 awards will go to women; seven are posthumous honours; personalities from poll-bound States feature on list

Updated - January 27, 2023 11:13 am IST

Published - January 25, 2023 09:51 pm IST - New Delhi

Samajvadi Party founder Mulayum Singh Yadav.

Samajvadi Party founder Mulayum Singh Yadav. | Photo Credit: AP

Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh, on the opposite side of the ideological spectrum to the BJP, architect Balkrishna Doshi and Dilip Mahalanabis, a doctor from West Bengal, will be honoured with the Padma Vibhushan posthumously, the country’s second highest civilian award announced on the eve of Republic Day.

A citation said Dr. Dilip Mahalanabis popularised the use of Oral Rehydration Solution while serving at a refugee camp during the 1971 Bangladesh War.

Mr. Yadav, a socialist leader who passed away last year, was the founder of the Samajwadi Party and served thrice as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. Tabla maestro Zakir Hussain and veteran politician S.M. Krishna, who quit the Congress to join the Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka in 2017, were among those selected for the Padma Vibhushan. Mr. Krishna (90) earlier this month announced retirement from active politics.

The President of India has approved 106 Padma awards. The list comprises six Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri awards. Nineteen of the awardees are women and the list includes seven honoured posthumously.

Personalities from poll-bound Tripura, Nagaland and Karnataka feature among the list of awardees.

Industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla and Sudha Murty, chairperson of the Infosys Foundation, were honoured with the Padma Bhushan. Eight people from poll-bound Karnataka have been chosen for this year’s awards, including Mr. Krishna and Kannada novelist S.L. Bhyrappa.

The 90-year-old Somanahalli Mallaiah Krishna, who has served in various positions including that of External Affairs Minister, Maharashtra Governor and Chief Minister of Karnataka, is credited with building Brand Bengaluru. Mr. Bhyrappa, one of the most celebrated and prolific novelists in Kannada, has been translated into nearly every Indian language, besides English.

Ramkuiwangbe Newme (75), a Naga social worker from Dima Hasao in Assam, who dedicated his life for the conservation and preservation of Heraka religion, won the Padma Shri.

Composer M.M. Keeravani, who recently won the Golden Globe, has also been recognised with the Padma Shri.

Ratan Chandra Kar (66), a retired government doctor from the Andaman and Nicobar Islands who has worked with the Jarawa tribes, was conferred with a Padma Shri. Mr. Kar treated the Jarawas during the measles epidemic of 1999 and brought them back from the verge of extinction, contributing to their increase in population from 76 to 270.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, “Congratulations to those who have been conferred the Padma Awards. India cherishes their rich and varied contributions to the nation and their efforts to enhance our growth trajectory.”

26 unsung heroes

Dilip Mahalanabis has been selected for the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian award.

Dilip Mahalanabis has been selected for the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian award. | Photo Credit: The Hindu

Mahalanabis, who promoted the worldwide use of Oral Rehydration Solution saving over 5 crore lives globally, was among the 26 unsung heroes named for the coveted awards.

Siddi tribal social worker from Gujarat Hirabai Lobi and war veteran Munishwar Chander Dawar who has been treating under priviledged people in Madhya Pradesh won the Padma Shri.

Among those selected for the Padma Shri were ‘Kannur ke Gandhi’ V.P. Appukuttan Poduval, a 99-year old freedom fighter who participated in the Quit India movement, snake catchers Vadivel Gopal and Masi Sadaiyan of the Irula Tribe in Tamil Nadu and 98-year old organic farmer Tula Ram Upreti from Sikkim.

These awards are conferred by the President at ceremonial functions which are held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March or April every year.

(With PTI inputs)

Full list of 2023 Padma awards

Padma Vibhushan

Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous)Others - ArchitectureGujarat
Zakir HussainArtMaharashtra
S M KrishnaPublic AffairsKarnataka
Dilip Mahalanabis (Posthumous) MedicineWest Bengal
Srinivas VaradhanScience & Engineering USA
Mulayam Singh Yadav (Posthumous)Public AffairsUttar Pradesh

Padma Bhushan

S L BhyrappaLiterature & EducationKarnataka
Kumar Mangalam BirlaTrade & Industry Maharashtra
Shri Deepak DharScience & EngineeringMaharashtra
Vani JairamArtTamil Nadu
Swami Chinna JeeyarOthers - SpiritualismTelangana
Suman KalyanpurArtMaharashtra
Kapil KapoorLiterature & EducationDelhi
Sudha MurtySocial WorkKarnataka
Kamlesh D Patel Others - SpiritualismTelangana

Padma Shri

Source: Ministry of Home Affairs

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.