Bihar court awards death sentence to five Maoists

May 25, 2017 11:37 pm | Updated 11:37 pm IST - Patna

A court in Munger district of Bihar on Thursday awarded death sentence to five Maoists for an attack in which two Central Reserve Police Force personnel were killed in 2014.

The additional district judge (1) of Munger court, Jyoti Swaroop Shrivastava, pronounced the quantum of punishment amid tight security. He awarded capital punishment to five Maoists — Bipin Mandal, Adhiklal Pandit, Ratu Koda, Banu Koda and Manu Koda. The court also slapped a fine of ₹25,000 on each of the five convicts.

All the convicts are lodged in the Munger jail in connection with the killing of two CRPF personnel, Sone Gauda and Ravindra Rai, during the last parliamentary elections in April 2014.

According to the prosecution, about 50 Maoists had ambushed a vehicle carrying CRPF personnel on the Gangta-Lakshmipur road under the Kharagpur police station in Munger, killing two CRPF personnel and leaving 10 others injured.

Areas neighbouring Jharkhand like Munger, Jamui and Banka are among the worst Maoist-affected districts of Bihar. Out of 38, over 18 districts of the State are hit by Naxal activities.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.