Assembly polls spring surprises

Uttarakhand Chief Minister B.C. Khanduri loses to Surendra Singh Negi of Congress from Kotdwar by a margin of 4,632 votes.

Updated - December 04, 2021 11:09 pm IST

Published - March 06, 2012 08:57 am IST - New Delhi

(Clockwise from top left). Election rallies of Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh, BJP leader Uma Bharti and SAD leaders Parkash Singh Badal and Sukhir Singh Badal. File photos

(Clockwise from top left). Election rallies of Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh, BJP leader Uma Bharti and SAD leaders Parkash Singh Badal and Sukhir Singh Badal. File photos

The Assembly election results on Tuesday sprang up several surprises in traditional party pocket-boroughs and little-known candidates registering success in many others.

Following is a list of prominent winners and losers.

Uttar Pradesh:

Leader of Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly and Samajwadi Party nominee Shivpal Yadav retains Jaswantnagar seat by defeating Bahujan Samaj Party’s Manish Yadav by a margin of 81,084 votes.

Sitting Congress MLA Amita Singh loses to SP candidate Gyatri Prasad Prajapati by a margin of over 7,000 votes in Amethi.

Heavyweight D.P. Yadav loses from Sahaswan Assembly seat where Onkar Singh Yadav of SP won defeating BSP’s Babar Miyan by 7,062 votes. Yadav had contested as a candidate of his party Rashtriya Parivartan Dal.

Louis Khurshid, wife of Union Law Minister Salman Khurshid, loses from Farukkhabad Assembly seat where Independent candidate Vijay Singh defeats Bharatiya Janata Party’s Major Sunil Dutt Dwiwedi by a slender margin of 147 votes.

Sitting Independent MLA Mukhtar Ansari, who fought the elections under the ‘Quami Ekta Dal’, wins from Mau Sadar seat by defeating his nearest rival Bhim Rajbhar of BSP by a margin of about 5,000 votes.


Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal retains his Lambi seat defeating his nearest Congress rival and cousin, Mahesh Inder Singh Badal, by a margin of 24,739 votes.

Punjab’s Deputy Chief Minister and Shiromani Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal wins from Jalalabad seat by a margin of 50,289 votes.

Punjab Congress president Amarinder Singh retains Patiala constituency by defeating ruling SAD’s Surjit Singh Kohli by a margin of 42,318 votes.

His son Raninder Singh loses by 6,930 votes from Samana seat.

BJP candidate Navjot Kaur, wife of Amritsar MP Navjot Singh Sidhu, wins Amritsar (East) constituency by defeating an Independent candidate by a margin of 7,099 votes.

Former Indian Hockey captain and SAD candidate Pargat Singh wins from Jalandhar Cantt by defeating Congress rival Jagbir Singh Brar by a margin of 6,798 votes.

Punjab BJP president Ashwani Sharma wins from Pathankot defeating his nearest Congress rival Raman Bhalla by a margin of 17,586 votes.

SAD candidate Bibi Jagir Kaur wins from Bhonath seat.

Among the losers in Punjab are Razia Sultana (Cong. — Malerkotla), Suman Kaypee (Cong. — Jal West), Tikshan Sud (BJP — Hoshiarpur) and Upinderjit Kaur (SAD — Sultanpur Lodhi).


Uttarakhand Chief Minister B.C. Khanduri loses to Surendra Singh Negi of the Congress from Kotdwar by a margin of 4,632 votes.

Uttarakhand BJP president Bishan Singh Chufal wins from Didihaat seat defeating Rewati Joshi of Congress by 10,617 votes.

Uttarakhand Congess chief Yashpal Arya wins from Baajpur defeating Raj Kumar of the BJP by 15,075 votes.

Former Health Minister and BJP leader Ajay Bhatt loses to Karan Mahra of Congress from Ranikhet seat by 88 votes.

Tourism Minister Madan Kaushik of the BJP wins from Haridwar seat defeating Satpal Bhramchari of Congress by 8,603 votes.

Former PWD Minister and Congress leader Indira Hridayesh wins from Haldwani seat defeating Renu Adhikari of BJP by 23,583 votes


Congress candidate from Cuncolim constituency Joaquim Aleamo loses to BJP’s candidate Subhash Naik while Dayanand Narvekar lost to BJP’s Glen Ticlo in Aldona constituency.

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee president Subhas Shirodkar suffers defeat at the hands of BJP’s Mahadev Naik in Shiroda constituency.

In Calangute constituency, BJP’s Michael Lobo wins against Congress’ Agnelo Fernandes.

Sitting MLA Nilkhant Halarnkar loses to MGP’s Kiran Kandolakar from Tivim constituency.

Former Tourism Minister and Goa Vikas Party candidate Franciso Pacheco wins in Nuvem defeating Congress candidate Alexio Sequeira.

Alemao family and Congress candidates Churchil Aleamo (Navelim), his brother Joaquim (Cuncolim) and daughter Valanka suffer defeat in Benaulim.


Manipur Chief Minister O. Ibobi Singh defeats his nearest rival O Indira of BJP in Thoubal Assembly constituency by over 10,000 votes.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.