Mayawati tenders resignation

March 07, 2012 11:31 am | Updated December 04, 2021 11:09 pm IST - Lucknow

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Wednesday met the Governor B.L. Joshi and tendered her resignation. File photo

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Wednesday met the Governor B.L. Joshi and tendered her resignation. File photo

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Wednesday tendered her resignation to Governor B L Joshi after facing a rout in the assembly elections.

The Chief Minister, apparently to avoid waiting news persons, chose to arrive from the back door of the Raj Bhawan.

Ms. Mayawati’s BSP faced a rout in the assembly elections managing to win only 80 seats. Her party had won 206 seats in the 2007 assembly elections.

Earlier PTI story says

Mayawati, the first CM to complete five years in U.P.

Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati may be on her way out of ‘pancham tal' — the Chief Minister's Office in the Secretariat building — but she has the distinction of being the first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh to have completed a full five-year term.

The Dalit czarina, whose social engineering catapulted her to a simple majority of 206 in the 403-member Assembly in the 2007 elections, became the Chief Minister for the fourth time in 2007, achieving the feat of former Chief Ministers Chandrabhanu Gupta and N.D. Tiwari of the Congress, who graced the post four times each.

The history of the State shows that none of the 31 Chief Ministers was able to complete a five-year term, not even stalwarts like Gobind Ballabh Pant, Sucheta Kriplani, V.P. Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Kalyan Singh and Mulayam Singh, among others.

Pant took oath as first Chief Minister of the State on May 20, 1952 but two years later he was succeeded by Sampurnand. In the next Assembly elections in 1957, it was Sampurnanda who led the Congress to victory but after his demise in 1960 Chandrabhanu Gupta became the Chief Minister.

After electoral victory in 1962, Gupta became Chief Minister for the second time but had to resign within a year paving way for Sucheta Kriplani to become the first woman Chief Minister in Independent India in 1963.

Kriplani was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1967 and Gupta again became Chief Minister for a brief period of one month after which Choudhary Charan Singh, with the help and support of Raj Narain and Ram Manohar Lohia, became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1967, and later in 1970.

But the Jat leader's tenure on both occasions was less than a year before it was dismissed by a Congress government at the Centre and President's rule imposed in the State. From the first time it was imposed during the tenure of Charan Singh in 1968, till 2007, President's rule was imposed in the State nine times.

Post 1970, Congress leaders like Chandrabhanu Gupta, T.N. Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, N.D. Tiwari, V.P. Singh, Sripati Mishra and Vir Bahadur Singh also graced the post. Brief tenures of non-Congress Chief Ministers like Ram Naresh Yadav and Banarasi Das were also witnessed.

Mulayam Singh took oath of Chief Minister in 1989 for the first time but remained in the post only two years.

While the Mandal-Mandir protests were at its peak in the country, Kalyan Singh rode the saffron wave to be elected as Chief Minister of the State on June 24, 1991. His term ended as he tendered resignation and President's rule was imposed on December 6, 1992 after Babri Masjid demolition.

Mulayam Singh again came to power with support from the Bahujan Samaj Party in 1993 but lasted for nearly one-and-a-half year as Mayawati pulled out her party's support. Mayawati became the Chief Minister for the first time in 1995 with the BJP support but could not complete her term.

After a brief President's rule, Mayawati again became Chief Minister in 1997 as part of a six-month-each agreement between the BJP and the BSP.

As per the agreement, Kalyan Singh succeeded her after six months. He could not complete his term and Ramprakash Gupta took his place in 1999 and later Rajnath Singh became Chief Minister in 2000.

Mayawati became Chief Minister for third time after 2002 election with support from BJP. Within a year the government fell and Mulayam Singh became the CM for the third time in 2003 and continued till 2007.

In the 2007 Assembly elections, Mayawati's BSP won 206 seats giving her clear majority and five years term to rule.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.