Kiran Kumar Reddy Timeline

Updated - November 16, 2021 07:55 pm IST

Published - February 19, 2014 12:18 pm IST - Hyderabad

Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy

-Born September 13, 1960 in Hyderabad. Son of former Minister Nallari Amarnath Reddy

-Attended Hyderabad Public School and graduated from Nizam College

-A promising cricketer during his student days, represented the State and South Zone teams.

-Four time Member of Legislative Assembly

-First elected to Legislative Assembly in 1989 from Vayalpad constituency in Chittoor district after the demise of his father. Lost the 1994 elections from Vayalpad constituency.

-Re-elected in 1999 and 2004 from Vayalpad constituency

-Appointed as Chief Whip in 2004 by former Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy

-Elected for the fourth time from Piler constituency in 2009

-Was unanimously elected as the Speaker of 13th Legislative Assembly in 2009

-Elected as the 16th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh on November 25, 2010 after incumbent K.Rosaiah resigned citing personal reasons

-Resigns as Chief Minister of AP on February 19, 2014 protesting bifurcation of the state

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.