Andhra Pradesh

Chiru quits, 2 MPs leave party

Protesting against the Centre’s decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh, Union Minister State for Tourism K. Chiranjeevi and three other Congress MPs have tendered their resignations.

Dubbing the Centre’s decision “hasty,” the Minister reportedly faxed his resignation. Expressing his anguish in the letter, he said it was expected that the government would consider all aspects and sentiments of the people from all regions before taking any decision.

Senior Congress leader and MP Vundavalli Arun Kumar termed the Centre’s decision “painful” and announced that he was resigning from the primary membership of the party and the Lok Sabha. Another MP, A. Sai Prathap, too, quit the party and faxed his resignation letter to AICC president Sonia Gandhi and APCC president Botcha Satyanarayana.

Anantapur MP, A. Venkatarami Reddy, quit as Lok Sabha member protesting the Cabinet’s decision.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 21, 2021 5:54:35 PM |

Next Story