All set for counting in Mizoram

Updated - December 04, 2021 11:22 pm IST

Published - December 08, 2013 08:27 pm IST - NEW DELHI:

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the counting of votes scheduled for Monday, after more than 80 per cent of the 6,90,860 electors voted in the November 25 elections for the 40-seat Mizoram Assembly.

The Election Commission has made it clear that the NOTA (None of the Above) option, which the voters used to reject all the candidates, will not be counted as a valid vote while it decides on the return of security deposits to candidates.

In all, 142 candidates, including six women, are in the fray. The Congress, led by Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, has contested all the seats as has the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA). The Mizo National Front (MNF), a constituent of the MDA, has put up candidates in 31 seats, the Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and the Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) in one. The Zoram Nationalist Party has fielded its candidates in 38 seats, while the BJP is contesting in 17 seats. Two Nationalists Congress Party and one Jai Maha Bharath Party nominees and four independents are also in the fray.

For the first time, the Election Commission used Verifiable Paper Audit Trail in 217 polling booths of 10 constituencies. Under it, voters can see a printout to ensure that their votes are rightly registered in the EVM, but they cannot take it home.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.