Padma Vibhushan for George Fernandes, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley

Boxer Mary Kom, former Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth and singer Chhannulal Mishra given Padma Vibhushan; P.V. Sindhu, Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut to be conferred Padma Shri.

January 25, 2020 08:45 pm | Updated November 28, 2021 11:41 am IST

Late BJP leaders Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley.

Late BJP leaders Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley.

Eminent personalities, including former union ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes, Olympian boxer Mary Kom, former Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth have been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan on the Republic Day this year, officials said on January 25.

Also read: Full list of 2020 Padma awardees

Former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Shrinivasan, Olympian badminton player P V Sindhu, former Nagaland Chief Minister S.C. Jamir and Jammu and Kashmir politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig have been awarded with the Padma Bhushan, they said.


The Padma Vibhushan for this year has been awarded to a total of seven prominent personalities, while 16 have been given the Padma Bhushan, 118 have been given the Padma Shri on the 71st Republic Day this year, they said.

This year the President has approved conferment of 141 Padma Awards including 4 duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one). The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushans, 16 Padma Bhushans and 118 Padma Shris. Thirty four of the awardees are women and the list also includes 18 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 12 posthumous awardees.

Former Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth, sportsperson M.C. Mary Kom,  Hindustani classical singer Chhannulal Mishra and Vishwesha Tirtha Swami of Pejawar Mutt (posthumous) are the other Padma Vibhushan awardees.


Industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Srinivasan have been awarded the Padma Bhushan. Producer Ekta Kapoor, director Karan Johar, actor Kangna Ranaut and singer Adnan Sami will receive the Padma Shri.

Modi congratulates awardees

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 25 congratulated the Padma awardees, saying they include extraordinary people. “Congratulations to all those who have been conferred the Padma Awards,” he tweeted. The Prime Minister said the awardees include “extraordinary individuals who have made exceptional contributions to our society, nation and humanity”.


0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.